We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make This Your First Choice”
Review of Hundith Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hundith Hill Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have visited the Lake District at least once a year since the 1960’s and have camped in tents, stayed in caravans and a whole range of hotels. From now on I will be only staying in one place – The Hundith Hill Hotel …

I have driven past the entrance at least 100 times and never even called in for a coffee then a month or so ago I decided to travel over to the Cockermouth area for a couple of nights. I have stayed in The Trout, The Allerdale and The Manor House and enjoyed each of them but The Hundith Hill is the Barcelona of the Hotel World.

My room was fantastic,very well equipped, clean with loads of space and with unbelievable views of The Lorton Valley. The meals were exceptional – man sized portions of beautifully prepared local produce, cooked to perfection – no wonder there were so many locals eating there on the Saturday evening.

Last but by no means least, the staff were friendly and professional and couldn't be more helpful.

All in all, probably the best weekend away I have experienced in many years. I have already booked another visit next month.

Room Tip: The newly converted barn conversation rooms are simply unbelievable ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucanthe2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights and attended a wedding, Excellent locations and the views are amazing.
We stopped in room 18 in the "court yard" very nice room lots of space. This room even had a door out the back to a quiet area with a seat built in to the wall were you could just sit and look and an relax on.

The wedding was excellent and the staff very friendly, ample food and the buffet was excellent.

The 2 gentlemen running the bar were excellent and had a laugh with everybody.

Breakfast was good, slow but the food is excellent.

Could have been better if they had given a few more towels for the room.

Would go back but would want to stop in the "honeymoon suite" the groom (our friend) showed us around and it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s70rmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed one night and was allotted one of the new rooms at the rear of the hotel...brand new with balcony from which the views were stunning.Beautiful room with fabulous bathroom with bath and power shower.Location of the hotel offers 360 degree views of beautiful English countryside and we were fortunate with the weather which made it much more worthwhile.Had bar meal in the evening which was fine and then settled in lounge with coffee and brandy....Didn't have breakfast as we had already booked in elsewhere for early Sunday lunch so cannot comment but overall a great place to stay if you want a quiet location with good service and views as good as anywhere we've stayed.One small criticism...the room was really nice but had to leave balcony doors open overnight as it was much too warm.Thermostat on wall didn't work and bathroom was underground heated...

Room Tip: Rooms 26,27,28 29...all brand new with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ged s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We hired hundith hill for my daughters wedding the staff were very helpful in fact couldn't do enough the food was amazing we had family form all over county they could not believe the high standards the bedrooms were very clean the breakfast was great like I said they couldn't do enough for us would like to give a big thanks to the staff for making my daughters day fantastic and thanks to the manager Wayne we all had a wonderful time at hundith would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cayote_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The rooms are rediculously over priced. Ours was a small box room with mismatched old furniture. Bathroom with carpet which isnt ideal. Noisy due to thin walls and huge gaps under the doors. Breakfast was ok but not a lot of choice if you dont like full english, no continental options. Wouldnt stay here again unless they dramatically lowered the prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tamara_Watts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights, as my brother was having his wedding reception on the Saturday.

I was staying in a classic room, which was clean and comfortable. The ensuite however, was tiny! I am 5"2 and I struggled to move in the shower.

We had our tea there on Friday night and decided to pay as we went rather than at the end of our stay.

Breakfast is at 8, but as my Dad, brother and neice were all part of the wedding party and needed to be in Whitehaven by 8:30/8:45, we requested to have breakfast early for them 3, we were told that this was no problem. The staff did not turn up till 8am, at which point the three family members where running out of time. We asked if they could take the 3 people's orders first and cook them before the rest of our party of 10, as the rest of us didn't have as much of a rush. We were told "no I will take everyone's order", so the three family members had to leave with no breakfast and a long day ahead before we would eat again.

This member of staff was repeatedly rude to us, for example she knocked over my cousin's camera, looked at it and then carried on with what she was doing. No appology!! We also caught her talking rudely about my family when she had her back to us, we had gone to the bar for the drink and heard everything.

The actual wedding reception was lovely, food was fantastic, service was brilliant and the actual room was lovely and bright with all of the windows.

When we came to pay our bill the next morning, my mum's bill had included everyone's bar meals from the Friday, which we had all already paid. That was 10 people's meals that cost atleast £10 each! It took a while to sort this problem, as they had to find the member of staff who we had paid, but it was eventually taken back off the bill.

All in all, I wouldn't return to this hotel if I was back in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were booked in for one night following a day's hillwalking. We chose the location based on the fact that we were planning to walk on the fells around Braithwaite the following day. When we arrived our hearts sank as there was a large wedding in progress and we wondered about the noise level later in the evening. We needn't have worried, our room was in the Courtyard and we heard absolutely nothing. What really stood out about this hotel was the eagerness and friendliness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble. The room itself was spacious, very clean, comfortable and had a really nice deep corner bath (perfect for soaking away those hill induced aches)! On top of all this, was some very good quality home-cooked food and some very decent wine. In short, we were very impressed and have booked again for June.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helvellynfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.3 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
731 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
586 reviews
4.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundith Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundith Hill Hotel

Address: Hillway Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: £70 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundith Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sumptuous furnishings and wonderful views across the Lorton Valley, Hundith Hill Hotel sits on the outskirts of Cockermouth. A short drive from Keswick, the traditional rooms offer luxury en suite bathrooms.The Hundith Hill Hotel is set in a grand country house, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a large pleasant garden. With views of the Cumbrian Fells, the hotel has free private parking for guests. Free Wi-Fi is also accessible in public areas.The elegant rooms are individually decorated with floral and satin fabrics, and some feature exposed beams and scenic views. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer, and a wake-up service is also available.The popular Hundith Hill Restaurant serves a varied menu with European influences, and the informal bar menu offers classic pub food and light lunches. Traditional cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are also available daily.On the edge of the Lake District, Hundith Hill is just 20 minutes’ drive from the Solway Coast. The famous lakes are within easy reach, and a number of walking routes are close by. Crummock Water can be reached in 10 minutes, and Derwent Water is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hundith Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundith Hill Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing