We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hundith Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hundith Hill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed valentines weekend we had an amazing time everything was perfect the food, staff and the newly built accommodation was beautiful can't wait to return special thanks to Wayne, Jenny and Sandra for making our stay so special
x

Room Tip: The newly built rooms are lovely with fantastic views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hundith Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for a valentines special, dinner b&b. the meal was fantastic, breakfast was very good, the service was great, lovely room and the view was amazing. First time I have given a hotel 5* rating. Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband took advantage of a valentines special dinner bed and breakfast £100. Bargain!! On arrival we were made so welcome. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room which was in a seperate building was immaculate the room was huge and was really comfortable. Our meal in the evening was superb and again excellent service from all staff. The only complaint which isnt really a complaint was the room was a bit too hot and couldnt seem to lower the temp but again not a complaint. Will definately go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angied72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Second time here for New Years Eve Gala Buffet and still really good.Service and food wonderful.Great room in the main building with an amazing view.The entertainer is great and sings and plays guitar,something for everyone.This year "Elvis"performed,looked the part but unfortunately that was it,didn't detract from the night.Hopefully will return again next year.

Room Tip: Main building if possible
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car0l60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Attended our Christmas Party at Hundith Hill and the food was great , all the staff were friendly and helpful even though it was very busy. The whole night was very enjoyable . The food was much better than last year and better than any other large function that I have been to. would recommend for Party or Function.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just friendly staff mixed in with a nice clean room and Free Wifi access.The food was typical pub grub but was excellent quality.There is a log fire in the lounge which will be very welcoming when the cold weather arrives.I will certainly use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Hundith Hill Hotel this weekend for 1 night whilst visiting friends in the area. All communications pre-arrival were excellent, being very helpful with our request for a 'dog friendly' room.
On arrival we took ourselves to reception to find that there was a wedding in full flow with guests in the foyer and reception area. We looked rather out of place covered in mud after a day out in The Lakes. Despite ringing the bell more than 30 times (my 7yr old was counting) it took more than 5 minutes (which felt like a lot longer!) for anyone to appear, and when the lady did appear she looked surprised (and not delighted!!) to see us and was about to walk away before I called her back. Not the best start BUT it did get better. We were given directions to our Classic Family room in the courtyard, which we found easily and were very impressed with. It had plenty of room, a double bed, a single bed and bunk beds + table & chairs. Usual tea/coffee facilities, TV and a clean and airy bathroom (large shower, no bath). The room was clean and well stocked with towels, bedding etc.
Despite the wedding being in full-flow for most of the evening we were not disturbed in our room, nor did we hear the disco whilst I was getting the children to sleep.
Breakfast was excellent - choice of cereals, juices and yoghurts plus ordering from the menu for full English. The bacon, sauces, mushrooms etc were quick to come, good quality and a very large portion!! It was the same lady serving as had met us on check-in (maybe the same grumpy lady as mentioned in a previous review), but she did not detract too much from our stay, and at check-out I was served by a very smiley gentleman which meant we left with a smile anyway :-)
This is a good choice for a family as the room was spacious and well-equipped.
Be wary of location though, as the hotel is quite a trek up a private road off the main road so I think it would be a long walk into the centre of Cockermouthif you were not planning to drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
673 reviews
23.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
3.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
287 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundith Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundith Hill Hotel

Address: Hillway Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#6 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: £116 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundith Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sumptuous furnishings and wonderful views across the Lorton Valley, Hundith Hill Hotel sits on the outskirts of Cockermouth. A short drive from Keswick, the traditional rooms offer luxury en suite bathrooms.The Hundith Hill Hotel is set in a grand country house, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a large pleasant garden. With views of the Cumbrian Fells, the hotel has free private parking for guests. Free Wi-Fi is also accessible in public areas.The elegant rooms are individually decorated with floral and satin fabrics, and some feature exposed beams and scenic views. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer, and a wake-up service is also available.The popular Hundith Hill Restaurant serves a varied menu with European influences, and the informal bar menu offers classic pub food and light lunches. Traditional cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are also available daily.On the edge of the Lake District, Hundith Hill is just 20 minutes’ drive from the Solway Coast. The famous lakes are within easy reach, and a number of walking routes are close by. Crummock Water can be reached in 10 minutes, and Derwent Water is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hundith Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundith Hill Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing