We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My usual hotel was fully booked so...”
Review of Hundith Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hundith Hill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My secretary found this. Was not disappointed at all. Only a short 5 - 10 mind away from Cockermouth town so quite convenient. The views were spectacular and service was very good. Not too keen on the breakfast as have tasted better, but still ok. Would love the TV to be slightly larger. Room was reasonably priced. Happy on general.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank mseet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

So impressed with this hotel, professional and friendly reception staff. Beautiful room ( room 5) usual amenities, plus ironing board and iron. A very comfortable bed and pillows . Food delicious. Looking to make a return visit soon.

Room Tip: There seems to be a range of rooms to suit lots of needs . We had room 5 front of hotel with fabulou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioSriOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I cant praise this hotel highly enough. In a beautiful location surrounded by immaculately kept gardens, this hotel is a lovely place to stay. I booked a family room and when the staff realised that we were three adults not two adults with a child, we were immediately offered an extra bedroom for free. Our rooms were comfortable and clean and our evening meal was delicious with lovely homemade chips. The staff were very welcoming and attentive, particularly Jack Sewell and Chloe O'Neil who were extremely professional whilst being friendly and helpful. They are both a major asset to the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back and stay for longer next time. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area - look no further!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJones396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for old world quality then this is the place, good quality food great service from hotel team rooms clean and fresh atmosphere relaxing hotel convenient for touring the lakes hundith hill hotel really worth a visit if any locals are planning an event then check hundith hill hotel out first

Room Tip: Family ask for court yard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billjohnson665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you're looking for a good quality small hotel convenient for both lake district and coastal attractions with very tasty food, a good variety menu and relaxing atmosphere, then Hundith Hill is definitely worth a visit. The staff are attentive to detail whilst being most welcoming and friendly. My wife and I have stayed regularly in extremely comfortable rooms (including beautiful views of the Lorton valley and surrounding fells) and also visit with family for various occasions including an appetising Easter Sunday lunch.

Room Tip: There are a good variety of rooms both on ground level and upper levels to suite a range of personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I Located Hundith Hill on the internet, while looking for a central base for the Western Lakes, to find possible trade for my company. The Hotel is on the outskirts of Cockermouth and only a short travel time to Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith etc.

I found the staff to be friendly and attentive and the food to very good with very generous portions, not good if your on a diet. The room I was given was outside in a courtyard area and I was able to leave my car outside the room, which I liked.

The room was large and very clean with a good view over the surrounding Countryside, I will be returning again shortly, and look forward to sampling more from the menu.

I booked my room directly over the phone after looking on the hotels web site and got a free upgrade when I arrived at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a two night stay in March at the Hundith Hill and had a enjoyable stay, we booked direct on the hotels web site and got what i would say was a good deal for bed and breakfast. We had a warm welcome at reception and the young lady helped us plan our two days with places to visit and the best routes.

On the first night we had a bar meal with a table that looked out over the lawn and fells which was very pleasant, the meals were good quality and of a good sized portion, breakfast the following morning was of the same quality.

Our room also looked out over the view that we enjoyed with our meal, we had a pleasant couple of days at the Hundith and will probably return later on in the year, as there was many locations that we did not get time to check out.

Room Tip: ask for a room that looks out over the fells and Lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.3 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
4.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
306 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundith Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundith Hill Hotel

Address: Hillway Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#6 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: £88 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundith Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sumptuous furnishings and wonderful views across the Lorton Valley, Hundith Hill Hotel sits on the outskirts of Cockermouth. A short drive from Keswick, the traditional rooms offer luxury en suite bathrooms.The Hundith Hill Hotel is set in a grand country house, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a large pleasant garden. With views of the Cumbrian Fells, the hotel has free private parking for guests. Free Wi-Fi is also accessible in public areas.The elegant rooms are individually decorated with floral and satin fabrics, and some feature exposed beams and scenic views. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer, and a wake-up service is also available.The popular Hundith Hill Restaurant serves a varied menu with European influences, and the informal bar menu offers classic pub food and light lunches. Traditional cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are also available daily.On the edge of the Lake District, Hundith Hill is just 20 minutes’ drive from the Solway Coast. The famous lakes are within easy reach, and a number of walking routes are close by. Crummock Water can be reached in 10 minutes, and Derwent Water is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hundith Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundith Hill Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing