We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best disabled room we've ever had”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife is confined to a wheelchair, cannot stand unaided and needs the highest level of facilities in a disabled room; this has always been hard to find (to be honest, the best/most reliable has been Traveldoge/Premier Inn etc since you know exactly what you're getting).

The Trout hotel disabled room (104 - don't know if there is another?) was superb; large room for turning a wheelchair and a walk-in en-suite wet-room with similarly large turning space and a great shower (with fold down seat for those who can use it), drop down grab rails (and others) everywhere, sink easily accessible. In short, really well designed, comfortable and warm (too warm in fact & it took some getting to grips with the under-floor heating control). The room and other areas are all on the ground floor, where the only issue is the heavy doors to open for wheelchair users (including the room door) - could do with some power assisted opening. The room in general was decorated (very recently, possibly 2009 flood-related?) to a very high standard. It was cosy and welcoming with a huge, comfortable bed. First class.

In terms of other (non disabled related) features, the hotel is well maintianed and cosy. It has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and the staff are all very helpful.

For the hotel management, I would say you should promote the disabled room a bit more (eg up front on the website); when I first enquired, I wasn't told that you had a dedicated disabled room, just that we would "be ok" in most of the rooms. On booking, another member of staff outlined it a bit better.

Top marks though to the hotel; I can thoroughly recommend The Trout in general and the disabled room in particular.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 81Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at this great hotel. We just wanted to get away for a night on our own without kids and dogs, we were not disappointed. Our room was executive, fairly large, with all the usual bits and bobs and two armchairs. Reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful. We decided to eat in the hotel's Bar and Bistro, as the main restaurant was fully booked. Bar staff were very professional and friendly, however, it did get very busy with non-residents using the facilities. We had to wait a while for a table, but enjoyed a couple of drinks whilst waiting. Once sat down, we were not disappointed. The food was freshly prepared, hot, tasty and plentiful. In all honesty, we probably over indulged as the portions are quite large. Had a good nights sleep. Room was on side of main road, but didn't hear any traffic. Breakfast was great, staff very friendly and attentive. Choice of juices, cereals and muffins, then choose from continental or full Cumberland, which was hot and very tasty. My wife likes her fried eggs massacred, the chef did this to perfection!!! On checking out, reception staff advised us that if we booked again, to ring hotel direct, as we may get special offers or free upgrades. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris24Lancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the Trout Hotel in Cockermouth after a 2 night stay. We had been so looking forward to a couple of nights away and our first impression on arrival from promising, the decor was lovely and day 1's reception staff were very welcoming. We were shown to our room and that should really have been all the there was to say! Unfortunately about 11pm that night we were woken by the sound of a water pump in the roof space that appeared to have a fault and caused the room to vibrate every 15-20 seconds, after 40 mins of hoping it would stop I went to see the night guard, he very kindly came to see our room and said it was best if we moved for the night, so at midnight in our PJ's we went to another room on the other side of the hotel and collapsed into the bed. We slept very soundly until 6.45 when an extractor fan kicked into life right outside the window, so we got up,went back to our original room and decided to go breakfast. Breakfast was superb, faultless and the staff very attentive. So a little bleary eyed we went about enjoying our day, having spoken to the reception staff we were persuaded to move yet again to another quieter room.

Our new room was much smaller, so we enquired as to if it was the same standard as the original room and told, yes! By this point the whole experience was beginning to grate on me, a rather crappy nights sleep, 3 room moves and thought of paying £100 a night for the experience, I was not impressed. I spoke to the receptionist, I explained that this was not really acceptable. We were not here on business, this should have been a rest for us, not to go home more exhausted than when we arrived. I asked for a partial refund on our first night and got the grand total of £20 off our bill and free upgrade if we come back! There is not a chance we will be back, £20 off our bill when all we wanted was a good night sleep, not much to ask for £100 a night room but at the Trout Hotel, and this member of staff, forget it!

Room Tip: Ask if your room is near any extractor fans or water pumps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for one night to access walking in the Lakes. The room was well presented and recently refurbished.
The breakfast was high quality and the standard of service was high.
Good value and worth a look if staying in cocker mouth.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Took my wife away for her birthday without the little boy (he was at the inlaws). Hotel was recommended for the food and looking into it thought it was a lovely looking hotel.
Very pleasant. check in was a doddle and staff were happy to assist.
I asked for some ice for thr room and it was there within minutes, we arrived during a convention and it was really busy but staff were remarkable and this carried on into the evening when we went down to the bar/bistro for dinner.
Service was slower but more than happy to wait, food was good (recommend the nachos) and moderately priced, drinks on the other hand were a bit on the steep side (£5 for a Peroni)
Lovely comfortable beds and a great nights sleep.
Next day was spent exploring the west coast, make of this what you will!
On our return the was a wedding taking place at the next door church and reception in the hotel, again it was very busy, i asked for some ice, but it never came. I went back to reception as i knew they were busy and asked for it again and i waited this time so the receptionist didnt have to walk all the way back to our room.
That night the sleep wasn't as sound as the room above us was occupied and the floorboards are very creaky, so every movement was heard from 2 am onwards.

All in all a lovely hotel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacdog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have stayed at the trout hotel five or six times over the last couple of years and it is allways perfect the rooms faultless very very clean the beds pillows and bedding all wonderfull,Staff very good allways helpfull and polite and the food fantastic we have allways found the car park ok and have parked there every time and can not wait to go back very soon i hope well done to you all .ps i do miss the great breakfast !!!!

Room Tip: River view will be quieter but they are all good what we have stayed in .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great exec room with post box views of the river through small windows 5 feet off the ground...would have expected decent windows to enjoy the view but alas no. That said the room was large and well equipped.

Car park was for sardines only, reception staff spot on.

The bed was absolutely awful...the bath was more comfortable. Thank god for the large TV....couldn't sleep on the concrete bed.

Can't comment on the evening meals as had a lovely meal at Carlins but the breakfast was pretty awful, the staff rude (how many staff at a supposedly high class hotel barge their way past guests ) and the breakfast arrangement poorly set out. the breakfast itself wouldn't have been out of place in a roadside caff...the ingredients were obviously high class but it was swimming in fat. My good lady had something a little different and it arrived literally just thrown on a plate...no presentation skills applied....might as well have come in a polystyrene box with plastic knives and forks.

Will we go again? Probably...everyone deserves a second chance and so many people recommend this place we must have been unlucky....but then again 1 in 20 reviewers agree....we'll see.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
8.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
24.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: £116 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing