We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trout hotel may weekend”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“trout hotel may weekend”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a great three day stay (friday to monday). The Junior suite was excellent. The food was excellent. The staff could not do enough for us but the bars were to full of dinners and i mean all the bars. This meant there was no place to have a drink after diner for hotel guests hence drop to four star overall. For a base to explore the lake district it was good though the usual British weather was not great. We would recommend this hotel to anybody who likes good food and the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    142
    44
    19
    13
See reviews for
136
315
5
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked through "Bookings.com" at quite short notice and upgraded to an executive double as it was an anniversary weekend. We arrived and struggled to park as there were a lot of visitors to the hotel. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful in directing us to our room. They explained the facilities and dining times fully. The room was fabulous. Nicely decorated, immaculately clean, with under tile heating in the bathroom, an easy room to relax in. The extra double glazing took the edge off any obtrusive traffic noise and we slept well for both nights. There was no availability in the restaurant on the first night. Perhaps when you first book it would be worth enquiring as to restaurant availability. The first night we ate in the Terrace Bar which was very busy and quite loud. The service and the food was very good with plenty of choice. The main restaurant on the second night was one of the best dining experiences we have had. An intimate setting with friendly, attentive and professional staff. The food was very good with plenty of choice, with wines to suit any palate. A great weekend and we will go back in the near future. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Request a river view if possible as it is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 980Bernie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After staying for one night during the weekend of the Guy Fawkes festivities, we discovered that the Trout was the perfect location for watching the local fireworks display across the river. We stayed in one of the executive rooms with a balcony facing the river, which allowed us to view the fireworks from the comfort of our own room, with a great view! The room was lovely, with comfortable beds, and a clean standard. As we only stayed one night, we did not make use of all the facilities and service, but in all the hotel seemed lovely and we had a great time in Cockermouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadeS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just back from a weekend stay at the trout hotel, it's truly amazing place. Staff v nice and welcoming, we had an executive room with river view- stunning -pure indulgence. I had dinner on 3 nights and can say its amongst the best food I ever eaten, such a pleasure dining in the Derwent restaurant. They really go above and beyond at this hotel - can't wait to go back

Room Tip: I would recommend a River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We have visited the trout regularly over the past 9 years for meals and well spending a quiet weekend away. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean room, great service from staff and a lovely meal in the restaurant on the first night. The food and service was faultless! The breakfast (which we had delivered to our room) was lovely, of high quality and plentiful, no dripping fat at all (as I read one review)!! All in all, a thoroughly superb, relaxed weekend. We always recommend the trout to everyone we meet!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Locals4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We actually stayed overnight in a quiet room at the back overlooking the river on this occasion. The room was very spacious & modern & the bathroom was lovely. As far as we were concerned the room had everything we needed (including hairdryer (ask for robes & slippers) & tea making equip't & a good flatscreen TV). The bar & eateries were fine & the staff pleasant (as used previously & we will use again). The breakfast most varied & quite fulsome & well produced to order from the cheerful ladies working there. Overall, we were very happy here & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it - it is located right on the side of the town so only about 2 minutes walk away & right next-door to William Wordsworth's House (with plenty of parking at the hotel). Cockermouth itself has a quite a number of eateries & small shops is itself well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel will also overlook the main road. The rooms at the back ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue'n'Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were invited to a wedding at the Trout and stayed in a magnificent room overlooking the river. The wedding was super with excellent food and attention. I have eaten in the restaurant many times without cause for complaint. This is the first time I have stayed and was a little shocked at the high price especially when they were doing us a special deal. we did take a few rooms. This would not stop me from staying there in the future.

Room Tip: Go for room 114. you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
255 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,102 reviews
5.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing