We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of money for an average meal”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lot of money for an average meal”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Took two friends on Saturday night for a meal in the main restaurant.

Don't you just hate it when you have just poured the wine yourselves, and the waiter comes straight over and tops up the glasses and empties the bottle and says shall I get you another one - all within a few minutes of sitting down! As we had looked after ourselves, and he watched us do it; I see this as pushy and cynical up selling.

If the staff were to smile more, and actually looked like they wanted you to have a good time it would help. Probably OK for afternoon tea or lunch, but won't bother with dinner again. The bill was £170 - which is a lot for an average night out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    138
    42
    19
    11
See reviews for
131
304
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

There for a work function, my two colleagues and I travelled on a damp day; the main road through Cockermouth was being dug up for renovations. Being re-routed with Sat Nav advising to “turn around when possible” was not the best start to our stay. Arriving at the hotel the road side exterior looked somewhat unappealing with the watering system for the hanging floral displays visible and no flowers in sight.
All was to change the moment we entered the hotel. The welcome was warm friendly and efficient. We were shown to our rooms with the hotel’s facilities and eating times explained en-route. My room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and The White Company products in the bathroom a welcome change from the unbranded alternatives. Obviously very recently decorated in muted modern tones with a good TV selection, plus tea / coffee and biscuits, the room was a haven of peace overlooking the river. The bed was very comfortable too.
We had open sandwiches for a snack, and trio of sausages and trio of prawns as small supper after work. Breakfast was great with superb poached eggs.
Upon leaving, I noted the number of “Thank You” cards lining the window sill – testament to the team who make this hotel a real gem. Next time I will bring my wife and savour the hotel in a less stressed non- work environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and fabulous food. My husband and I stayed for one night. We ate at the Derwent restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. We both had the fajitas which were very fulfilling. Infact too much! We shared a platter for starters and that was ample. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was quite greasy but again enjoyable.I'd definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleMandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a great three day stay (friday to monday). The Junior suite was excellent. The food was excellent. The staff could not do enough for us but the bars were to full of dinners and i mean all the bars. This meant there was no place to have a drink after diner for hotel guests hence drop to four star overall. For a base to explore the lake district it was good though the usual British weather was not great. We would recommend this hotel to anybody who likes good food and the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked through "Bookings.com" at quite short notice and upgraded to an executive double as it was an anniversary weekend. We arrived and struggled to park as there were a lot of visitors to the hotel. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful in directing us to our room. They explained the facilities and dining times fully. The room was fabulous. Nicely decorated, immaculately clean, with under tile heating in the bathroom, an easy room to relax in. The extra double glazing took the edge off any obtrusive traffic noise and we slept well for both nights. There was no availability in the restaurant on the first night. Perhaps when you first book it would be worth enquiring as to restaurant availability. The first night we ate in the Terrace Bar which was very busy and quite loud. The service and the food was very good with plenty of choice. The main restaurant on the second night was one of the best dining experiences we have had. An intimate setting with friendly, attentive and professional staff. The food was very good with plenty of choice, with wines to suit any palate. A great weekend and we will go back in the near future. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Request a river view if possible as it is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 980Bernie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After staying for one night during the weekend of the Guy Fawkes festivities, we discovered that the Trout was the perfect location for watching the local fireworks display across the river. We stayed in one of the executive rooms with a balcony facing the river, which allowed us to view the fireworks from the comfort of our own room, with a great view! The room was lovely, with comfortable beds, and a clean standard. As we only stayed one night, we did not make use of all the facilities and service, but in all the hotel seemed lovely and we had a great time in Cockermouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadeS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just back from a weekend stay at the trout hotel, it's truly amazing place. Staff v nice and welcoming, we had an executive room with river view- stunning -pure indulgence. I had dinner on 3 nights and can say its amongst the best food I ever eaten, such a pleasure dining in the Derwent restaurant. They really go above and beyond at this hotel - can't wait to go back

Room Tip: I would recommend a River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
156 reviews
5.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing