We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place for lunch. Lovely bar area and bistro so great choice. The menu suits either those wanting a full cooked meal or something more simple yet equally substantial as a wrap... recommend the Duck wrap.
This classy bar/restaurant/hotel excels in customer service....drinks are served from the bar at the table, the menu is varied, table service attentive.
A popular destination in a lovely location by the river with quality shopping nearby.
Worth a visit as a days destination however most definitely for a weekend stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel along with other members of my family. We booked the executive rooms, which were a little more spacious, light and airy with gorgeous sheets and bedding which you could sink into after a day out walking. Check in was efficient and friendly and we got to choose the room which we liked best, which was a nice touch. We took breakfast and dinner on both nights, what can I say - food heaven! Delicious Cumbrian breakfasts ( extensive ! :) and dinner was just as good with many options to choose from. We also sat out on the sunny terrace mid afternoon which was lovely. There is also a garden and lakeside seating and amazing afternoon teas to enjoy, which I would try and leave a space for next time!. The location is great - right next to the river. Rooms at the front of the hotel are close to the road, so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a river view room. Cockermouth is a lovely lakeside town. Less touristy than it's south lakes counterparts.there is an array of small independent shops, churches and a castle to stroll by as well as a good choice of restaurants to choose from. The history lane is an interesting spot to visit as well as the markings of the 2010 floods. A very lovely hotel in an authentic Lakeland town, close to some great walks and amazing views

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room and book afternoon tea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We used to visit friends in Cockermouth on a regular basis but since opening our own business on the Lincolnshire Wolds we have missed out. Luckily we were able to close for a couple of days to visit our friends and when we asked them where they would like to go for lunch they said without hesitation The Trout. We didn't book in but really it would have been wise to book as they were very busy (always a good sign to us). However the staff were very courteous and offered us a table nearly straight away. The food was excellent and enjoyed by us all. We have been to the Trout to celebrate our friends wedding anniversary a few years ago and it is just as wonderful as we remember it was then. If we didn't have friends to stay with we would certainly stay at the Trout. Thank you to the management also for giving us the wonder glass cake stand which I admired and when I asked about it's origin they said they no longer needed it and I 'could have it', just how generous and thank you, it is being used at Treetops Cottages & Spa. I look forward to another escape soon to Cockermouth and having lunch or evening meal there with out friends. With kindest regards Gill & Brian Hartley from Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreetopsCottages-Spa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over a weekend whilst attending a friends wedding. The staff were excellent, friendly and professional. We were fortunate to get a free room upgrade, not that it was needed as the rooms are lovely, well decorated and well cared for. Needless to say, the upgrade was appreciated and topped off a first class hotel stay.
Breakfast was extremely tasty and the bar sells the local Jennings ales. My wife and I would definitely use this hotel again. Whilst it was a little more expensive than other local hotels, it wasn't that much more. Plus, as breakfast is included and it is right in the centre of Cockermouth with free parking, it is all much of the same.

Well done to all at The Trout!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Having lived near Cockermouth for some years and now living in Scotland, I'd always fancied staying at the Trout' on one of my return visits. We got a great deal on a long weekend with an executive double. The room was beautifully decorated, warm without being stuffy, spotlessly clean (something I'm very critical on being ex-forces) and supremely comfortable. Really nice atmosphere about the hotel with warm and friendly staff (something you'll find a lot of in Cockermouth) and the bars and restaurants which are popular and busy but without feeling rowdy or chaotic. Great selection of real beer on tap, from Jennings and others. Be sure to opt for the full Cumbrian' at breakfast......superb! There was a wedding on the weekend we stayed, so we braced ourselves for the loud music and rowdy guests.....not a whisper of either. Testament I think to the type of clientèle using the place and of the staff and management's thoughtfulness. Really sad to have to check out. Oh, be sure to take your Sunday papers to The Bitter End pub for lunch, another gem in this great little town.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockape28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A really nice Hotel that makes you feel at home. It is quite a change to move away from the 'Brands' now and again where you can feel like a Robot.

I was looked after, with plenty of Staff on hand to help. Beer is extremely costly but there are other Pubs about within a short walk. A short stay but service and environment spot on!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Therobster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Took two friends on Saturday night for a meal in the main restaurant.

Don't you just hate it when you have just poured the wine yourselves, and the waiter comes straight over and tops up the glasses and empties the bottle and says shall I get you another one - all within a few minutes of sitting down! As we had looked after ourselves, and he watched us do it; I see this as pushy and cynical up selling.

If the staff were to smile more, and actually looked like they wanted you to have a good time it would help. Probably OK for afternoon tea or lunch, but won't bother with dinner again. The bill was £170 - which is a lot for an average night out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlisleCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: £117 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing