We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Catch”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Trout is situated right on the main street of Cockermouth, on the bank of the river. They have tables out for you to sit and enjoy the view. Granted, there's not too much to see apart from the water rushing by, but it's still quite relaxing if you're into that kind of thing.

The bar and restaurant are quite compact but not claustrophobic. The price of alcohol is a little on the expensive side, even for a hotel - you'd be forgiven for thinking you were in central London with the price of a simple lager.

Our room was large and airy with a very comfortable bed. They offer various pillow types by request, if you're one of those who can only sleep on goose feathers. The TV in the room is a large flat screen (around 42") that wouldn't look out of place in any modern living room. Much better than the tiny ones you see in most hotel rooms these days.

Breakfast consists of a cold buffet, with meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit and croissants etc as well as a choice of full English breakfast items - cooked to order. I am a fan of buffet style cooked breakfast but this format has the advantage of the food not being sat under a heated light for a few hours if you're late getting down to eat.

The staff are attentive and really friendly.

Definitely one of the better, independent hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faldinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for The Trout Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The Trout is a quaint hotel in Cockermouth with a friendly and courteous staff. It's a little old but well maintained and appointed.

I don't mind the Keys and Locks, but the monster key chains for the keys are a little annoying to pack around.

All-in-all, the Trout is my regular stay in Cockermouth.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank OpenDoorTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three nights at the beginning of July. The room allocated was near an entrance so was very easy to access and we had requested a ground floor room which was organised for us. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were individually cooked. The only reservation that there was no specific vegetarian options for breakfast. Meal in restaurant was excellent and the bar meal fairly good, but hotel was very busy on a Friday night.

As other people have mentioned the car park is very small, but staff kindly moved their own cars to make a space for us. Good value for a Lake District location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank langhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our room was very clean and comfortable, house keeping did a great job every day. Staff were friendly, helpful and always ready for a laugh. Breakfast was comprehensive - varied and all needs catered for. Lunch and dinner - quality food beautifully cooked and portions are substantial. There is a map showing where food and sundries as sourced. The setting is lovely, right on the river bank, and there is a large beer garden with fruit trees, flower beds and at least ten iron tables that easily seat 8. There is also enough room for a large marquee - seems perfect for a wedding venue inside or out. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here on the 14th august in room 204. Possibly the best room in the hotel. Great greeting staff, wonderfully clean.

Always clean, always friendly. The food here is sourced locally and well cooked. Breakfast was included in the rate and was very comprehensive, good size buffet, and a large selection of cooked breakfast items.

Really, what more could you ask for?

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nigelandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff, good food and a lovely location. Rooms very generous in terms of size and very comfortable. The location by the river meant I could have a nice walk to balance out a delicious dinner.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 207 which was lovely but no view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On arrival we were immediatly impressed by the flower displays and the overall care taken with the outside appearance.
The accolades here are continuous and rarely have we stayed in a hotel where there is just nothing detrimental to comment on.
Lets start with the staff who clearly enjoy their work, smile all day and night and cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one.
Next the room - spacious and spotless and very comfortable and you will never find a better bathroom in a 4* hotel - gleaming it was, large mirror with loads of space. The room itself was just as clean (every day) with a large tv with multi channels inc. SKY.
The dining rooms and bar were just as comfortable and the food was superb and very reasonable for the considerable quality.
Breakfast had everything you could ask for with table service and a multi choice of freshly cooked bacon eggs etc.
The hotel prides itself on serving local produce and and the menu lists all the local suppliers.
I could go on and on about this place that sits right at the top of the many places we have stayed at. Taking all into consideration our stay was excellent value for money. Well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hope1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
200 reviews
5.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,661 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: £112 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing