We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Brilliant!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of Croft House Barn

Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
Double bedroom with 4 poster bed Rear view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
25 reviews
Front view
Double bedroom with 4 poster bed
Rear view
Bedroom 1 - double bed
Bedroom 1 - single bed
Bedroom 2 - double bed
A good place to sit
Study
Study as double bedroom
Sunset
The Lakes on a lovely day
A short walk away
Another view of the front
Ground floor rear view
Kitchen installed 2016
Top floor
Dining area
Lounge
The garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mary S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in this barn as a large group of friends, it suited all our needs. Clean, well equipped, loads of space, lovely barbeque area at the back. It was a really exciting house with plenty of nooks and crannies to explore! Wonderful long weekend - would definitely want to go back in the future!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent peaceful location, fantastic views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great location in a peaceful hamlet near Cockermouth. Great for the coast, the hills, mountain biking, walking and general sightseeing. Flexible accommodation for a large group, fantastic views and an enclosed garden. The kids loved the balconies. The dogs loved the garden, but were confused about going upstairs to the main living area! We would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location & layout
Liked least: beds and bathrooms a bit 'tired'
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ems
scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect House for Family Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked Croft House Barn for our mum's 70th birthday, as we needed a large house to accomodate 8 adults, 7 children and a large dog and we were not disapointed in our choice.

It is very clean and large,( spread over 2 floors and two mezzanine's with plenty sleeping space for everyone, we each had our privacy and the children had enough space to entertain each other without bothering the adults)
There is a great public area with plenty seating and a kitchen, well stocked with everything you need. Our girls even managed to bake their gran a Birthday cake!!

Despite it's size, once it's heated up it's cosy, (what I would reccomend is to go armed with wood and firestarters to get the fire going as we had to head out to find some after we arrived, in the dark). There is plentiful hot water for using the bath and shower and with one of each we only had a small queue for these in the morning.

The barn itself is situated in a very small village, with stunning uninterupted views and a summer return trip would be great to appreciate the garden fully.
We booked thinking the barn was actually in Cockermouth, but it isn't, it's 3 miles outside. The village is lovely but there is no local shop or pub, something we were initially disappointed about but actually it wasn't an issue, a taxi from Cockermouth is £9 and the local Chinese takeaway delivers, much to my husbands delight!!
Most of us struggled with a 3G signal, but again, it meant no phones to distract and kids had to resort to other means of entertainment and they had a ball, making friends with local children and meeting their animals!
We will most definately be back and I have already been in contact about a possible next booking.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The size, cleanliness and facilities.
Liked least: not a negative as such, but it should be advertised as 'near Cockermouth and not 'Cockermouth'
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The character of the accommodation
Liked least: Local pub was 3 miles away
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Stafford, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: views and space
Liked least: cramped shower room
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view in the morning
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Towse H
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable home from home with spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012 for a stay in April 2011

My family has been to Croft House Barn on several occasions over the years, sometimes solo and sometimes part of a larger group. The Barn is very much a family home with the individuality of the owners in its stones. The first floor living space is huge and open plan but still cosy and with a wonderful view over the valley towards Skiddaw and Bassenthwaite. The downstairs bedrooms, or the upstairs galleries if you want to be different, are ideal. It is provided with everything you need and the hamlet is peaceful but welcoming.

Cockermouth is a short drive and the main centre. It is also a lovely town to visit. Kewick is a pleasant drive into the next valley. The Solway coast and the western lakes are not nearly as commercialised as the southern lakes and for that reason we infinitely prefer them.

The walks, the peace and quiet, the history, the countryside and the ability to lie out on the patio and watch the stars on a clear night - wonderful!
We, and our dogs are always very happy to arrive, and very sorry to leave!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quietly glorious rural setting on a hill over the valley
Liked least: Too far to walk to nearest town or pub really unless you are enthusiastic walkers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing