We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second time to the Big White House for 2 days...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DBR5252
Edinburgh Scotland UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second time to the Big White House for 2 days conference”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

I have used the Big White House twice now for corporate events and must say I would use again due to location, size and facilities. They have redone a few rooms in the house from my last stay there and its been tastefullly done. We would recommend this site to others no problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and size of property
Liked least: lack of extention cables and pop up screen for presentations
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich C
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely, well kept, well furnished, well equipped large house.”
Reviewed 15 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Couldn't believe how lovely the house looked from the online pictures and wasn't disappointed on arrival.

Incredibly well equipped kitchen and dining area. There was enough crockery, cutlery etc. that you could load up BOTH dishwashers after a day's eating and drinking!

The pool table was in full working order (important to me!) and a great asset for us to have!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool table!!
Liked least: Couldn't get the wi-fi to work.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluenoseV...
Redditch
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2nd time here and look forward to the 3rd!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed here 4 years ago for my father in laws 80th and have just got back from a week celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary with many, many family and friends. We loved the place 4 years ago but are so impressed with the changes that have been made since.
Once again, we had an absaloutely amazing time and look forward to another stay.
Anyone who is considering a large familly get together should definitely consider this place. It is huge, with so much space and everything has been thought of.
2 well equiped TV rooms and a pool table in its own room saw to those who didn't simply want to sit, drink and recall fond memories of our last 25 years together!! (till silly oclock in the morning most days). The summer house in the garden was also a godsend for those still of a tobacco persuasion!

All the bedrooms are comfortable, each having its own toilet, so no big queues when you "needed to go"!

Also a mention for the pub in the village - The Bar n Bistro, where Hal and Andy always made us so welcome whenever we took a stroll down there (well worth it).

Finally, thank you so much to all our friends and family who shared such a special week with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, scale and comfort of
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotlandW...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay at Big WhiteHhouse”
Reviewed 1 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Family get together of three generations....we all enjoyed our stay...rooms all clean, comfortable, warm and very well equipped house. Hope to return again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large Dinning table marvellous for our large family Burns Supper
Liked least: Don't think there was anything we liked least at the Big White House
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ell321907...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed at the Big Whitehouse with a large group of family and friends. The gathering was a surprise for my wife, the company (Stay lakeland) were very helpful ensuring the event stayed secret. The location of the property was ideal, very quiet but not too far away from all the things that you need. The house itself is huge and comfortably accommodated a group of 27 people (3 of which are babies). The house has a large dining room, kitchen with all required utensils, games room (pool table was a real hit with the kids), large garden , large parking area and tv room. We really could not have asked for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of property
Liked least: full recycle bin
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing