We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alilunt
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed on a family weekend in November. There were 19 adults and 3 children. Location was perfect and the house was well equipped for all of us. Dining room is perfect for large groups and when peace and quiet was needed we could retreat upstairs to one of the two living rooms.
Overall a wonderful place to stay and will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyomi93
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, just amazing!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I don't even know where to start!

This place was just amazing! Absolutely loved every minute being there. Firstly I wanted a big place where me and some friends could stay for the weekend, where we could relax and do some activities. It was for mine and another friends 21st birthday weekend. I had searched and searched for houses big enough for me and my friends, as we have a very large group. We came across this and it looked like the perfect place. So I emailed Stay Lakeland to find some more information about the house. They were very prompt with replies via email and very helpful providing information for booking.

We arrived on the Friday and stayed until the Monday. There was about 17 of us that stayed for the full weekend, and the rest of our friends came up for the Saturday-Sunday. We couldn't believe the size and the actual quality of the house for what we paid for. The house was so spacious! Our favorite room was the pool room and the kitchen dining area. As this is where a lot of the time was spent. The beds were ridiculously comfy! Comfier than my bed at home! All of my friends commented on how comfy the beds were. My friends wouldn't stop commenting all weekend how nice the house was, and the quality for what we paid. Everyone was very impressed.

We also hired a hot tub for the weekend, and this was put outside the kitchen area on the patio, this was the perfect place for it, as people were coming and going from the house near the kitchen. Luckily we had very good weather for the weekend so most people were sat out on the patio near the hot tub.

We also hired an inflatable assault course/ bouncy castle for a few hours the Saturday evening. This was agreed before hand. This was put on the lawn at the back of the house. This was great fun.

Along the lines of things available to use in the house were absolutely perfect. The kitchen provided more than enough plates, cups, glasses etc. There was enough blankets, pillows etc in the bedrooms. There was washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, dry room. It was the best self catering accommodation i have been to yet for such a large group of people.

Come Sunday we all didn't want to come home Monday morning, we wanted to stay there! So the Sunday night we all cooked pizzas, nibbles with drinks + all sat in the big cinema room, put the music channel on + had a laugh. It was so cosey :)

We had read a lot of reviews saying about having problems with the security deposit. So we did take extra precaution with this, but we had absolutely no problem with the security deposit what so ever. We had a couple of breakages whilst we were there, but nothing major. We messaged stay lake land after our stay to inform of these breakages, and they were deducted from our security deposit, which was only fair!

I can give nothing but excellent feedback about this place, and all my friends that stayed there with me said exactly the same! It is definitely one for the photo album, and definitely a 21st birthday that wont be forgotten!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing it was all brilliant
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane l
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Get Together”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a family weekend away at the big white house, the house and fascilities were to a high standard, with lots of space for everyone to move around, my only concern was the fact that none of the bathrooms had a bath mat in the shower, had a few near misses as our ages ranged from 4 years to 74 years, so ended up buying them ourselves.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic family get together”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Huge family of 22 all met at the big white houses , travelling from Scotland , England and Spain. We had an amazing time. The house was fantastic, all the rooms very decorated nicely, the accommodation was very clean had every gadget you needed in the kitchen. The best bit was we could all sit down together and eat as one family.
The kids loved the games room and different sitting rooms, everybody had room to come and go as they pleased. The weather was sunny everyday so we sat out a lot, fantastic grass area to play on and lots of seats to enjoy the sun. Sun house went down a treat with the smokers. Would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the property, facilities and decoration.
Liked least: Wi - fi connect not alway able to get could be due to everyone using their devices at the same time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryhowes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brillant weekend”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

had a fantastic family weekend the house was imaculate everything there you needed the only problem i had was the safety of the bath and showers no mats our party age group started from 4years to 70 years 2 members of our family slipped while having a shower also from a health and safety issue i would advise mats to be avalible

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth D
Egremont, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house was very well equipped and all the rooms were very nicely decorated.
Plenty of lounging rooms, really comfortable. Lovely location near the coast and within easy reach of the lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole layout was great
Liked least: 'the weather'!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danuta K
Torun, Poland
1 review
“Marvellous! Highly recommended for large groups of people travelling together”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our group of 24 people enjoyed very much the accommodation at the Big White House. It was the only place during our long journey through the east-north-western UK where we could be together, cook together, gather at the large dining table and enjoy eating and talking, laze about in the snug or TV lounge or pool room or relax outside in the garden or summer house. Each room we entered was furnished and equipped with things required. The bedrooms had comfortable beds, en-suite toilets and wash basins The kitchen provided us with all the equipment we needed in the kitchen. There were even the washing machine, the dryer and also the clothes drying room complete with clothes horses and ironing facilities. We found it necessary to use all these as well. We all had an excellent feeling of comfort, pleasure and relaxation during our stay at the Big White House. Thank you !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like at home
Liked least: We would recommend more shower rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing