We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Hen Party”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosie1604
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hen Party”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A group of 17 hens stayed at the big white house 13-15th November to celebrate a hen party. The house was perfect for what we wanted to do and we have had a genuinely unforgettable experience. Everyone commented on how lovely all the rooms were, the dining and lounge area downstairs were fantastic for eating and playing games/ dancing etc, while the upstairs lounges were perfect for rest and relaxation and watching some chick flicks. We enjoyed the pool room and even managed to get outside (despite the weather!) for a game of rounders in the garden. The kitchen is very well equipped and it was easy to cater for everyone. It was a home away from home for a very special occasion and we can't wait for the next opportunity to come back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining room
Liked least: Wi-fi a bit slow, but to be expected
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you had a great time at the Big White House.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

The Stay Lakeland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We celebrated Our Dads 80th Birthday last weekend. Great house for a family gathering 17 of us in total two of whom were under 2 . Wonderfully spacious house and everyone had their own bit of it. Dining area was ideal for socialising and good idea that television rooms were on the upper floor. Memorable occasion in an amazing house :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Big White House.

Kind Regards

The Stay Lakeland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Mari...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A simply super weekend celebration”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at The Big White House for three nights as a large family group.The weather was great and so was the house. The fabulous dining room with seating for 24 was the main attraction for us but the 11 bedrooms , pool room , big kitchen, large garden ,three lounges were everything that we wanted. The kitchen was very well stocked with glasses , crockery , cooking utensils , fridge , freezer , washing machine , two large dishwashers etc...infact everything we required to make the weekend run smoothly. The house was modern and very clean and we immediately felt right at home...infact , we didnt want to leave. The food festival was on in Cockermouth and we sampled a few tasty delicious things there. The countryside around was very peaceful and inviting and we enjoyed some lovely walks together. So our weekend was a great success and we would love to repeat it . It was everything a family group could wish for. We loved it all. If i was asked for anything I would like to see added to the house, I would say another fridge similar to the large one there would have been perfect as for our weekend stay as we didnt use the large freezer at all for such a short visit but would have loved extra fridge space for such a large group. Well done B.W.house and thanks for a wonderful celebration weekend ....WE WILL BE BACK !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large dining room
Liked least: The grass in the garden was a bit long...in need of a mowing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrierre...
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One great room, lots of ordinary rooms”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is an unusual house, and like most, we came to the White House because it catered for a large extended family group. It was my brothers birthday. This house has one great room - the dining room. Very few houses have such a large lovely room. Its great for everyone sitting together. We had a meal / MurderMystery and the room was perfect.
However good the dining room is, its not a whole house. The rest of the house is less than perfect. Our room was squashed to say the least. The toilet door didn't open properly because it hit the bed. The drawers on the cupboard didn't open because they were blocked by the bedside table. Swinging a cat was out of the question.
The kitchen is fine, but for such a big dining room, its not really what you need to make big meals. Its a bit cramped and there isn't really the workspace to cook for so many.
Overall, whilst we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, I left thinking this was a house with one great room and a lot of very ordinary rooms.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ste C
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brilliant says ste chizzy”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

stayed here for my friends 50th what an amazing place room lovely and clean you cant beat it we hired 2 hottubs on our stay and we used the bbq went into carlisle and keswick why we was down there loved it would recommend this place

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith C
Murton, Co Durham United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Helens 30th.”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at The Big White House from Friday to Monday for our daughters 30th. The group was made up of friends and family of all ages. All went well with the large dining area and generally enough space so no one felt crowded at any time. The situation is good with easy access to both Cockermouth and Maryport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole weekend
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernie05
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday had by all !”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There were 21 of us staying at the Big White House in Cockermouth for a week over the Whit holiday. We ranged from age 2 - 83 !. The house fitted us all in perfectly, which is something we struggle to find. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need. The bedrooms are comfortable each containing a toilet and sink, and then there are three bathrooms dotted around, which was enough for us all to share.
The best room in the house is the dining room, which fitted us all in and room for more, We spent lots of time here eating (obviously), chatting, playing games, studying etc. Fantastic ! There is a summer house outside which we played in quite a lot, children and adults. We also hired a hot tub which was fantastic!
The downstairs lounge is a bit of a struggle to fit everyone in, and does not have a TV, so the family had to split up around the other two lounges if we were having a telly night in.
Wasn't much of a problem.
Excellent Holiday had by all !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining Room
Liked least: Downstairs Lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing