We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent service.”
Review of Bamboo

Bamboo
Ranked #22 of 72 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Always lovely at bamboo. Staff are attentive, food is great and lovely atmosphere.... Keep it up bamboo!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 225Coopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    63
    38
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Saturday night”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited with my boyfriend on a Saturday night, food was great, lots of variety, reasonably priced. However, decor needs updated and it is ridiculous how much of a nightmare it is to get through to them via telephone. It just rings out everytime!

Overall great meal, will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georginag798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not so good this time”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent the afternoon in town unexpectedly today and were left with little time to cook so decided on a takeaway from Bamboo as it was fully booked for sitting in. I have had several meals here in the past, takeaways too, which have always been good. My chicken musaman tonight however, was terrible! The chicken was chewy and tasted nasty - almost like it had been boiled beyond belief- and the sauce was watery and tasteless. I was really disappointed. Won't be going back in a hurry as it's not cheap either - in am always happy to pay for decent quality food, but this was poor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DreamingofaSunnyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favourite place ever.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have been to bamboo time and time again and never have I been disappointed. The food is absolutely perfect, such a high standard compared to takeaways etc. the staff are lovely and can't do enough to help. Even the takeaway option is good too. I can't recommend this place enough, and I can't wait it to again! Suitable for families, couples, friends anything and anyone! Decently priced, we were surprised at how reasonable the takeaway option was.. No different to other takeaways in the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HugoMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Decent little place to eat.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Ive been to Bamboo a few times now and it never fails to please. Very much your normal small town Chinese and the food and service hold absolutely nothing to complain about. Portion sizes are all on the very generous side and everything ive ordered off the Chinese menu has been very tasty.
The restaurant also does a Thai menu...a very "western" Thai menu which is nothing remotely like authentic Thai food ...BUT, it`s still nothing to whinge about at the price.
I`ll definitely be back and my kids love the place so no complaints here.
Staff are all friendly and smile.....Means everything to good service and return trips.
Room for improvement......Not really , they do it well and at a good price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cumbriafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing