We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant - we will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant - we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently stayed here while on business - we booked 3 rooms in total. All the rooms were very clean and of a good size. The decor is 'interesting' but adds to the character of the hotel. The owner is very friendly without being overpowering. The breakfast was amazing and served by a lovely lady who just couldn't do enough for us.

All 4 of us enjoyed our stay and will be back. This is a great hotel which deserves to be supported as it reflects some of the things that make Great Britain great!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    30
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
60
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Easy to find, plenty of good parking and just on the edge of centre and easy stroll to all the very good pubs and shops. The decor of the hotel is slightly dated and could be made lighter but everywhere is absolutely spotless and looked after obviously lovingly. Carol Ann, the host, is bubbly, friendly and very helpful. Her husband is an excellent chef and I can say the breakfast was the best I have ever been served out of many hundreds over the years. The evening dinner was also delicious with reasonably priced wine . My wife and I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which overlooked the high street and the Trout Hotel. Secondary double glazing cuts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clifftynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here fro New Years Eve for 2 nights very centrally located for the town. Lovely room nice and clean as was the whole hotel could not fault it for that , the breakfast was absolutely gorgeous . The host Carol Ann was excellent what a character , charming and bubbly every time we spoke to her she couldn't do enough a mind of local information .....would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay for a few nights

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

My partner and I recently spent the New Year period at the Manor House Hotel and we had a wonderful time there. Although the weather was wet and dull the welcome we received was certainly not. From the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome by the host, Carol Ann, and the other staff. The room was warm, comfortable and well-appointed and a great place to relax. We had read from the many reviews on this site that the food was excellent and on the first-evening we ate in the restaurant and it completely lived up to the comments we had read. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the meal - it was excellent in all respects and certainly as good as or better than some highly regarded restuarants we have eaten in. We were glad that we booked but even though it was busy the service was efficient and friendly and we are very much looking forward to our next meal there. The breakfasts at the Manor House have also gained themselves a reputation for quality and again our experience bore this out. There is an excellent choice of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, home-made bread and and a wide range of home-made preserves. The Manor House Grill with its locally sourced ingredients and impressive Cumberland Sausage is to be recommended for those with a hearty appetite and I can recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which I found absolutely delicious. All the food is cooked by Carol Ann's husband Edward, who is a Swiss trained chef, and we found everything that came from the kitchen was carefully prepared and excellent in all respects. We spent New Year's eve in the hotel bar and were made to feel very welcome by all. Every effort had clearly been made to ensure that everyone had an enjoyable time, and we certainly did!

Cockermouth is a friendly and attractive town and the same could said of the Manor House Hotel. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinght85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here only for one night while visiting family. This is a small family run hotel which is close to the town centre with its own car park, well furnished common areas and very comfortable rooms. Highlight of our stay was the excellent breakfast which has local produce and lots of homemade jams. Cockermouth is an excellent place to visit, right on the edge of the Lake District but away from the tourist crowds. Many good local pubs and restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieCynthia1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a beery golf break. Accommodation good and clean. Attic room a little cramped for headroom in the bathroom. Food was excellent. The home made jam was absolutely gorgeous. Drinks at the bar were very expensive so we just went 100 yards down the road to The Black Bull and The Bush. Less than £100, good value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houghmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights here, and were made welcome by both the owner and his wife. Ours was a late booking, so we were allocated a small twin room, and the beds were comfortable, and we had a small ensuite shower room too. Had we been staying longer we might have asked for a largr room, but for two nights this was not a problem.

On our first night we had dinner in the hotel, and had an excellent meal which we both enjoyed. The main course was lamb and was delicious. Breakfasts were either full English, or more frugal if you wished it.

This is an old and historical building which has been furnished and decorated to match this fact. There is a comfortable lounge-bar and quite a large dining room. There is very adequate off street parking in front of the hotel, which is on the main street in the town, close to shops and Wordsworth's house.

Cockermouth is a good centre for visiting some of the less promoted parts of the Lake District, the Western Lakes. It seems a busy small town, rather less overwhelmed with visitors than nearby Keswick, and all the nicer for that!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a unique family run 19th Century Georgian style Grade II listed building, packed with features including, an elegant wood paneled staircase, beautiful high ceilinged rooms on the ground and first floors and original wooden beamed bedrooms on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing