We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a lovely couple of nights at this hotel whilst attending a friends wedding. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice, my boyfriend was particularly pleased that Marmite and black pudding were included in the choices! The room was very spacious and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    30
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
62
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just been to Cockermouth for the first time and could not have chosen a nicer hotel to stay in. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was lovely and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. Very nice and friendly staff. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast, pleasantly served by Wendy and Bethany, nothing was too much trouble for them. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just spent a lovely bank holiday weekend at the Manor House. Firstly we must sing the praises of the host, Carol Ann, as she made our stay so enjoyable, not forgetting the chef and her husband Eddie as well! The parking outside was excellent with no problems throughout the day at all.Some other hotels should go there and learn the art of good old fashioned customer service as she has this in abundance. The hotel itself is grand, with a smashing spiral staircase leading to all rooms. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is impeccable and a credit to the hardworking staff, who incidentally we were told have worked there for a number of years and it shows! Although we didn't have dinner in the restaurant, if the hearty breakfast is anything to go by, it will be a delight as the quality of it was superb and nothing was a bother if more was required. We loved Cockermouth itself and this was our first visit to this lovely place but rest assured it won't be our last! Please, if you ever get the chance, book into this little gem as it offers great value for money too. Suffice to say we have already booked our next visit for late November as Carol Ann informed us that the Xmas lights were a joy to behold in the high street so we're already looking forward to this!

Room Tip: We stayed in rrom 4 which overlooks the main high street and is very spacious a yet very quiet being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

While the decor in our room was unappealing (what we saw of the rest of the building was quite grand!), it was very clean and well facilitated. I'd swear we were alone in the hotel as well as it was so quiet -- clearly we weren't as there were plenty of people eating breakfast in the morning! There was ample parking and the host was very professional and bubbly. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and they even had Marmite! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warboys
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was spot on for my recent business trip to Cumbria. Convenient, parking no problem and value for money. Room clean, free wifi and a Very nice dinner with excellent roast potatoes. Breakfast was probably one of the best I have had in a long while with great poached eggs and the toast was excellent!

Couple all this with friendly and efficient staff and the lovely town of Cockermouth I can recommend this place for a one night business stay or a base for exploring the area

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPhilWarboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked via Trivago the Thursday before we stayed on the Saturday night on a spur of the moment. Booking via Trivago saved us £25.00, so its worth investigating that route.
We were greeted by the owner on arrival, who recognised my name and had our keys at the ready. We'd secured the last room she had available and we were on the top floor (room 12). There is only a velux window in this room but it opens and keeps the room well ventilated (even when raining - it didn't let any rain in) and has a fantastic black-out blind on it.
The room, whilst on the small side, was everything we needed. A comfortable double bed and the room was clean and well kept. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a shower at first (apart from a hand held type in the bath), but the bath is a really good size, and perfect for soaking in after a 10 mile walk over the fells!
Shampoo and shower gel were available as were tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. There was also a trouser press.
The hotel itself is a little dated in places, but I felt that added to the charm of the place really. It certainly isn't unkempt or dirty. The parking is excellent (right in front of the hotel) and is plentiful. The hotel is central to Cockermouth and there are some lovely restaurants and bars to visit.
The breakfast the next morning was lovely and of a high standard.
Should we find oursevles with child-minders in the future and plan a walking / eating / drinking escape, then I would certainly return to the Manor House Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 is up 2 flights of stairs, which some may find difficult to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilsa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.1 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a unique family run 19th Century Georgian style Grade II listed building, packed with features including, an elegant wood paneled staircase, beautiful high ceilinged rooms on the ground and first floors and original wooden beamed bedrooms on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing