We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A lovely hotel, clean and tidy rooms, superb personal touch from very friendly staff. The breakfast was superb, I never had an evening meal there however if it's as good as the breakfast you wont be dissapointed. I would definatley stay there again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    32
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
67
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight ahead of a family christening and the hotel owners couldn't do much more for us as we were made very welcome.

It's a great building and fantastic for kids and adults to explore but not for those who like their hotels modern and glossy. It's a traditional good quality hotel with 5 star service and food. Yes it may be a bit worn in some, unimportant areas, as others have commented on trip advisor but this is one of the things that gives it character. We will stay here again when visiting the family or even when weekending in the lakes which is just a short drive away.

The little things like real home made bread with meals and the ability for the chef to cook just about anything to cater for kids with fussy eating habits make all the difference.

One negative was that until we asked for someone to do it, we were expected to make up the sofa bed ourselves and perhaps this shouldn't have been necessary.

All in all a hidden gem that we have never stayed at in the many years we have visited Cumbria but will do so again in the many more years we will be visiting.

Thank you

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ggtandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a lovely couple of nights at this hotel whilst attending a friends wedding. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice, my boyfriend was particularly pleased that Marmite and black pudding were included in the choices! The room was very spacious and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just been to Cockermouth for the first time and could not have chosen a nicer hotel to stay in. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was lovely and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. Very nice and friendly staff. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast, pleasantly served by Wendy and Bethany, nothing was too much trouble for them. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just spent a lovely bank holiday weekend at the Manor House. Firstly we must sing the praises of the host, Carol Ann, as she made our stay so enjoyable, not forgetting the chef and her husband Eddie as well! The parking outside was excellent with no problems throughout the day at all.Some other hotels should go there and learn the art of good old fashioned customer service as she has this in abundance. The hotel itself is grand, with a smashing spiral staircase leading to all rooms. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is impeccable and a credit to the hardworking staff, who incidentally we were told have worked there for a number of years and it shows! Although we didn't have dinner in the restaurant, if the hearty breakfast is anything to go by, it will be a delight as the quality of it was superb and nothing was a bother if more was required. We loved Cockermouth itself and this was our first visit to this lovely place but rest assured it won't be our last! Please, if you ever get the chance, book into this little gem as it offers great value for money too. Suffice to say we have already booked our next visit for late November as Carol Ann informed us that the Xmas lights were a joy to behold in the high street so we're already looking forward to this!

Room Tip: We stayed in rrom 4 which overlooks the main high street and is very spacious a yet very quiet being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

While the decor in our room was unappealing (what we saw of the rest of the building was quite grand!), it was very clean and well facilitated. I'd swear we were alone in the hotel as well as it was so quiet -- clearly we weren't as there were plenty of people eating breakfast in the morning! There was ample parking and the host was very professional and bubbly. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and they even had Marmite! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.1 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
241 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a unique family run 19th Century Georgian style Grade II listed building, packed with features including, an elegant wood paneled staircase, beautiful high ceilinged rooms on the ground and first floors and original wooden beamed bedrooms on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing