We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Despite the grandeur of the building and it's proximity to the centre of Cockermouth, I was a bit disappointed with my stay here.
On arrival a lady hurriedly ran through the usual info as if she was in a hurry and directed me to my room. Although I didn't expect her to help me, there was no offer of help with my bags despite the fact there was no lift and I have a back injury.
When I reached my room I realised she hadn't mentioned the restaurant at all or the wifi.
The size of the room was fine with an impressive balcony but no seats.
The bathroom was v basic but clean, however the shower was atrocious! No power at all and I nearly scalded myself trying to get the temperature right.
The interior of the rooms could do with freshening up.
The breakfast was continental only - worth noting if you look forward to a full English when staying away.

Room Tip: Specify a ground floor room if difficulty with mobility as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    31
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
65
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We received a great welcome upon checkin. The rooms were immaculate, although quite small. Everything you needed was there. The only problem was the mattress had all of the springs coming through. I didn't get a wink of sleep. It was so uncomfortable and my back hurt the next morning. As the rooms have sloping ceilings and sky lights, if you want air or are too hot you cant sleep as the blind is on the now tilted window letting all of the light in.
The breakfast was good and all the staff encountered were wonderful. Just watch for the mattress in room 14.

Room Tip: Check the mattresses and ceiling heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle11f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely friendly relaxed hotel. By far the friendliest hotel staff I have seen for a long long time.

Rooms although slightly dated are immaculately clean and very comfortable.

The breakfast was also the best I have had in a very long time. Very fresh and perfectly cooked.

I will always aim to stay here when in the area

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank idallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

this is a nice hotel in the small town of cockermouth. the inside is nice although we were in an attic room with only a skylight window (no view) the room was ok, comfortable and clean.( very small tv and bed a bit lumpy) service was very friendly and professional and the food served at dinner and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank is0bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have stayed at the Manor House Hotel on a number of occasions and have always had a very relaxing break.The rooms are nice and comfy. The hotel is close to the town center and all the nightlife. The breakfast is very good and really sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay, very impressive building both inside and out. Staff very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was lovely, very enjoyable stay. Would recommend anyone to stay here, if they want a quiet pleasant room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Singe room at the top of the hotel, bed was comfortable, bathroom fine.

The evening meal and breakfast were both excellent. lots to eat and fine quality .

All the staff very friendly especially the lady serving breakfast

In the very centre on Cockermouth lots of pubs within walking distance but again would recommend the evening meal

Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acornsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.1 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
7.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a unique family run 19th Century Georgian style Grade II listed building, packed with features including, an elegant wood paneled staircase, beautiful high ceilinged rooms on the ground and first floors and original wooden beamed bedrooms on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing