We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious!!”

Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 2005 the cafe is open 10am to 5pm 7 days a week, serving hot meals, breakfasts, freshly made sandwiches & panini's, homemade cakes & tray bakes, afternoon teas, milkshakes (using our very own Jersey Ice Cream), local beers, wines, ciders, our our own home made Wellington Jersey Ice Cream. All of which can be eaten either in our lovely cafe or outside on our terrace which has stunning panoramic views of the Cumbrian Fells. We also have an animal enclosure which has free entry, a play area with outdoor toys and mini quad bikes (payable).
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The home cooked food here is truly delicious while the ice cream is the best I have ever tasted.

My particular favourite is Turkish Delight but the varieties seem endless. To add to this are the amazing views over Lakeland and friendly helpful staff.

Every year I come to the Lakes and always visit this place........how could I not?!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elaineamymcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Glorious views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We regularly have tea here after walking in the lakes. The view from the terrace is superb - a panorama of fells. They offer lovely cherry and almond scones and a range of tea time cakes, as well as a huge selection of ice-creams. We have had lunch here but most people coming through were choosing ice-creams before visiting the animal enclosures.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shandy526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful jersey ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a little bit of heaven. On a sunny day you can sit outside and look across the fields and see the animals. I had a blackcurrant and liquorice ice cream which was delicious. The staff are friendly and the chips home cooked and crispy. Don't go if you want to diet, do go to treat yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeozCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“all food made on the premises including Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

On a fine sunny day would be happy to sit and take in the view for hours.The staff all all friendly, and just off the big roundabout near the travelodge.about half a mile up a little lane, give it a try you will not regret it

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More than just a cafe...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lovely place, nice views and areas where you can get closer to the animals. The location is to die for, but we went on a busy weekend and the service was very slow, when arrived the food was lovely and second to none. Kids love the icecream here, I think it's the best in the area. Overall very good value for money and an ideal place to take children in the holidays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha_kCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing