We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Bookshop

The New Bookshop
Ranked #29 of 71 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

This is a quiet little cafe hiding in the back of a lovely little bookshop. Service is excellent and food is devine. Well worth a visit. X

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clareb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Stuck for a present!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Extremely helpful, researched for ideas for me, I came back later, liked one of the ideas, they ordered for me and it arrived the next morning...can't get much better than that unless they could wrap it for me :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee shop hiding at the back of a bookshop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have visited this lovely cafe a number of times with my girlfriends. We are always greeted with smiles from the staff. The food is delicious every time. Definitely going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clareb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best coffee shop in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Great selection of teas and cakes, lovely atmosphere and the food is really good too. The one coffee shop I have to visit when I'm back home!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saywabish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“try the guiness cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

fresh ingredients, decent coffee and great cakes - good place to stop for important things in life. staff usually very friendly, limited menu but fresh ingredients.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cathscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Bookshop also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to The New Bookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing