We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome to a beautiful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage
Cosy lounge
Cosy Lounge
Log Burner alight.
Wall View
The Log Burner on Full Coal, Real hot!
Bedroom
Bedroom
Newly fitted Double shower in Revamped Bathroom
Newly fitted Kitchen
Rear area, however, tree no longer there.
View from front of cottage
Sunset over Allonby beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
707veroni...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm welcome to a beautiful place”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the owner and nothing was too much trouble everything was explained in great detail , the views are spectacular and the peace that surrounds it is idyllic .

The beautiful heartfelt touches of the cake, biscuits and breads and the card to welcome us were outstanding .
The neighbours were just as welcoming if your looking for a great holiday a fantastic cottage then this is it .
We will be back next year and again many thanks to the owners .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Many many thanks for such a lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed our peaceful location and your stay at Stable Cottage. We look forward to seeing you again next year when you will be more than welcome again. Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from a weekend at Stable Cottage which we would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet break. We were greeted by Steve who was extremely helpful and informative about the area, and gave us a welcome pack comprising yummy local produce. The cottage had everything we needed and was ideal for the two of us (plus our dog). There are some lovely walks nearby, the beach is a 10 minute drive (try the ice cream shop) and there are two pubs in the next village within walking distance. If you haven't explored this quieter part of Cumbria then look no further. Thanks to Steve (and Elaine) for your hospitality - especially the cakes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and delighted that you had such a good time on your first visit to this part of Cumbria. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage and glad that you enjoyed the peacefulness of Wardhall. Hope to see you again some time in the future. Kindest Steve & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Stable Cottage for my partners birthday weekend, we were not disappointed. Its such a lovely little cosy cottage. Steve and Elaine greeted us on arrival, they were so lovely and helpful. Steve shown us round and told us about all the best places to go, all within a short driving distance. The views are beautiful, especially from the sky light in the bedroom. The garden at the back is lovely and contained and a sun trap.
There is everything you will ever need in the cottage. We loved the goodies on arrival (Homemade bread, cakes, marmalade. Cheese, butter, milk and a chilled bottles of wine. Steve and Elaine have thought of everything to make your stay special.
I am already recommending the cottage to family and friends and we will definitely be returning again, maybe stay more than 2 nights next time.
Thank you Steve and Elaine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Dear Jane & James. A lovely review that is much appreciated. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage. Thank you for the tip about the Cumbrian Express steam train coming through Aspatria - it was really good to see it. It is kind of you to recommend us and also gives us the satisfaction of knowing that we have met your expectations. Please do come again - you will be very welcome. Best regards Elaine & Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 May 2015
Hi Harry & Amy Thank you once again for booking Stable Cottage and for leaving such a great review. It was our pleasure to have you stay here in Wardhall and we are naturally pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You will always be most welcome here and we look forward to seeing you again some time in the future. Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Dear Lizzi & Alastair
We very much appreciate the wonderful review you have posted in respect of your stay at Stable Cottage and are so glad that the cottage lived up to your expectations. We are only sorry that we did not get to meet you as we were away. You will be most welcome again any time here in Wardhall and hopefully if you come again we will get to meet you! Best wishes Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Dear Stuart & Jo Thank you so much for your very nice review and we are thrilled that Stable Cottage met your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you to stay in Wardhall and we are so glad that you had such a nice relaxing time. You will both be most welcome here again and we look forward to seeing you again some time in the future. Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael30...
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A quiet and quaint get away”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stable cottage was a very cosy and comfortable cottage in a beautiful little hamlet, which provided us with a very tranquil weak, despite the very strong winds. The welcome pack was superb, lots of home made goodies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaintness of the place
Liked least: The high winds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Dear Michael Many thanks for your kind review. Sorry your weather was so dreadful for your stay at Stable Cottage - not much we can do to control that! Hope to see you again sometime in Wardhall Best regards Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing