We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing couple amazing cottage above and beyond...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

stephanie...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing couple amazing cottage above and beyond what is required.”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I had a few problems prior to coming to stay at the cottage and I have to say that the couple were amazing in replying to me and understanding my situation it helped me a lot. The actual cottage is really nice and the little extras that are left are such a lovely touch and make life that little bit easier very thoughtful. I missed them when they called round but it was nice they popped to see us and give us a discount card for local public house. I would definitely recommend, enclosed garden for dogs. The stairs as it states in the advert are very steep so if not fully mobile not for you. Would return.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thanks Steph for your kind words. We're so glad you felt you could still come for your short break, after your sad news. Hope you feel better for the rest and change of scenery. You will both be welcome to return any time in the future and who knows, we might even get to meet each other. Take care and hope the future brightens up for you both. Best wishes, Chrissy and Chris. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thanks Jann and Rob for your kind words. It was our absolute pleasure to have you and the dogs stay at Stable Cottage recently. So glad you enjoyed your stay.you are most welcome to return any time, just let us know when to expect you! regards, Chrissy and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NEIL R
1 review
“Perfect pet friendly rural retreat.”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wonderful location, lovely cottage for two, close to beach and Cockermouth. Hosts Christine and Chris very friendly and helpful, could not do enough for us. We will be visiting again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thanks Zoe for your kind review. It was our [pleasure to have you and Neil and Roger Ramjet stay at Stable Cottage. You are most welcome to return any time. Regards, Christine and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thanks very much Philip and Vera for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage recently and to swap notes on 'old cottages' and their quirks. You will be most welcome to return anytime and we can swap notes on Wigston....Regards Christine and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would visit again. Cottage delightful. Every attention paid to detail.Quiet part of lakes. Lots to do. Thankyou Chris and Christine.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thanks Linda for your kind review. We are so glad you and Alan enjoyed your recent stay at Stable Cottage. You will be most welcome to return any time in the future. Best regards, Christine and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alana444
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Country hideaway”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at the cottage for 3 nights in May. It is in a quiet hamlet not too far from Cockermouth but approached via narrow country lanes. Wardle Gate is not signposted until you are practically there so unless you have a passenger who can read maps you will definitely need to use a Sat Nav. to find it.
Cottage is small but well equipped and has the advantage of a wood burning stove which we found to be essential and creates a wonderful country cottage ambiance.
Christine and Chris are friendly and helpful but not obtrusive. They gave us wonderful treats including bread, butter, cheese, wine and the best jam I have ever tasted.
We are in our 70`s so found the steep stairs a little difficult but manageable. We suggested that a bed settee in the lounge could be an option for those who might find the stairs too steep to climb. This would also be an advantage for anyone needing to use the toilet which is located on the ground floor. Other reviewers have mentioned problems with the drains blocking but we did not have any problems it just needs care in what is put down the toilet i.e. only toilet paper.
We recommend that you visit the Aquarium at Maryport which is only a short drive away (Sat Nav. CA15 8AB) Free parking is available at the side of the Aquarium adjacent to the crazy golf.
We loved Cockermouth and recommend that you visit the Wordsworth museum and garden which is located on the main street.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you Andrew and Eveline for your kind review. Glad you had a good holiday, despite the somewhat steep stairs. Thanks also for your comments about the homemade jam....we usually ask guests if they would like to purchase more for their return home, but Chris obviously forgot to mention that bit to you. You are most welcome to return any time in the future, if you can put up with the stairs again. The addition of a bed settee is something to be considered in the future. We agree that the Aquarium is a great attraction and indeed took our granddaughter there recently. She thoroughly enjoyed herself. Once again, many thanks. Regards, Christine and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e_walker9...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My boyfriend and I have just returned from spending a couple nights over the Easter break in Stable Cottage.
Both Christine (and Chris who we met on departure) were very friendly and welcoming.

On arrival Christine greeted us to show us around the cottage. She mentioned about the steep steps up to the bedroom however we had no problems. Christine also very kindly baked my boyfriend a birthday cake - absolutely divine!! (Safe to say the cake has been completely devoured!). The welcome hamper was full of tasty treats - even dog treats for our pup!

The area is beautiful and quiet - just a shame about the weather for us but we would love to return during the summer months!

The cottage is perfectly placed for venturing out without being in areas which would have been too busy with it being the bank holidays. We were after a peaceful, quiet, cosy stay and that's just what we got!

There is an abundant amount of information books - one of which we used to map out a couple walks and was very useful.

The cottage is well equipped with everything you need. The log fire was great and the added bonus of having a Smart TV was perfect for our evenings. There is both Netflix and Amazon TV (very much a home comfort for us!).

We would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Thank you again Christine and Chris for having the 3 of us and we cannot wait to come back - hopefully with better weather!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thanks Emma for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you, Ben and Skye stay at Stable Cottage recently. So glad Ben had a good birthday and enjoyed his cake. I love baking, so any excuse if we're asked in advance to spoil our guests. Thanks for leaving the cottage neat and tidy on your departure, that's much appreciated on changeover day. You will most certainly be welcome to return any time in the future. Regards, Christine and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.