We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deli and lovely wine bar”

Shill's of Cockermouth
Ranked #8 of 73 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cockermouth, Cumbria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great deli and lovely wine bar”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Fabulous choice of food and exquisite choice of wine.. great service and the breakfast is perfect...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank livy1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    57
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“okay but needs to try harded”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My friend and I called in for coffee and toasted teacakes. The coffee was okay but the tea cakes were burnt!!. The waitress actually brought them to us burnt and presumably expected us to eat them. She then disappeared for some time before we could speak to her and point out she had served us with burnt food. She did take them away and we did get new unburnt ones and later got an apology but for a new café this should not have happened and the food should have been checked before it was served. The café is new and we will give it the benefit of the doubt. The staff are very friendly and it the improvements are a great success... just take care with the teacakes!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cafe in a shop”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

New place. Food a bit different. Slightly more expensive than others but worth it. Disabled seating downstairs. Cheese and deli counter worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MockerkinEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlecdon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We called for lunch, and had an Italian Meat Platter, and a Cheese Platter. They were both presented lovely, and tasted fresh., all washed down with a bottle of Chilean Merlot. Delicious . Will definitely be going again. Oh, and don't forget the Deli downstairs, to buy some of what you've just eaten. Lovely

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichelleArlecdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Cockermouth restaurant scene”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Since Shills opened my husband and I have stopped in fairly regularly for lunch and dinner and have seen great improvement in working out the blips of a new establishment. Hands on ownership pays off. The decor is pleasant and the wine list quite good. We particularly enjoyed the last two Thursday evenings with musical entertainment. The Spanish and Italian meat platters are outstanding, as are the tapas selections. Shills is raising the bar for Cockermouth restaurants and we look forward to many more lovely meals and pleasant evenings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shill's of Cockermouth also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Shill's of Cockermouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing