We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view and a half”
Review of Ouse Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ouse Bridge House
Ranked #6 of 16 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

One night stay in mid November. Arrived in the dark, so what a thrill it was to open the curtains and take in the wonderful view the next morning. A comfortable night's sleep, decent internet access (it worked on the top floor) and good breakfast. How do they get the fried eggs done so perfectly?

Room Tip: It's got to be a room at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Room was nice and tidy. The lady was very hospitality, gave us a lot advice for where to go. If I go to Lake District again will definite stay here!
Only one point is there's no hot water after 10pm.
Overall it's a great hotel with acceptable value!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is an excellent place, run by some extremely friendly and helpful people. Travelling a lot for business means I stay in hotels every week and this B&B is better than a great many of them. We stayed here on our way to completing the C2C bike ride and they are cycle friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Sited mid-way between Cockermouth and Keswick on a quiet road overlooking Lake Bassenthwaite.this must be the best B&B I have used in the UK
The lovely couple who own Ouse Bridge did everything in their power to ensure our 4 night stay was memorable

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook Skiddaw and the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our experience with Ouse house hotel, was so good from first getting there really friendly couple who are so helpful with ideas maps and advise , the rooms are very spacious, with lovely views over derwent water, very clean . The full English breakfast is really something I was able to run up Cat Bells after one of Steves breakfasts. Will definitely go back again John and Zoe

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I just spent three wonderful nights at this great place. I had a room with lovely views over the lake and mountains beyond. The room was well stocked with all sorts of goodies including locally made cookies , hot chocolate and sweets.Very comfortable bed and bedding and plenty of soft thick towels. The breakfast is freshly cooked to perfection and staff goes out of their way to accommodate guests. I took my dinner in the dining room every night and the cooking is great with a home made ,fresh,locally produced ,feel and plenty of choice.
The Ouse Bridge House is the sort of "feel good place" you want to return to time and time again. Very convenient for all sorts of attractions,lovely country walks etc. A real gem and a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake wiew
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had a really lovely stay. We received a really warm welcome, Stephen is a really nice helpful man. The room was lovely and had everything we would need and more. Really nice girly touches like face clothes and cotton balls to remove makeup with. I would defo recommend this it anybody. The breakfast was fantastic as well.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
488 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Link House
Link House
#3 of 8 in Bassenthwaite
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouse Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouse Bridge House

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake | Dubwath, Cockermouth CA13 9YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range: £74 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ouse Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ouse Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouse Bridge House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing