We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice house, garden & cafe - fun for the whole family”

Wordsworth House and Garden
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century Georgian town house was the birthplace and childhood residence of the English poet William Wordsworth.
Gilsland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice house, garden & cafe - fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Didn't even know this house existed till we drove past it by accident! Much is made of Wordsworth's later house in Grasmere, but this - his childhood home - should be on the tourist trail too. Lovely house with original furniture, lots of hands-on activities, characters dressed up in period costume, gorgeous smells coming rom the kitchen, quill pens to try... There's also a lovely garden that runs down to a view over the river. The garden does need some tidying up, which is a shame, but there are some lovely plants and beautiful apple trees. Nice café, with great cakes, and lift access. No car park - but we found an on-street-space right opposite, so no problems.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heavenl1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wordsworth House and Garden, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
What more can we say? What a fantastic review - thank you. Many poems that Wordsworth wrote whilst in Grasmere and around that time were inspired by his childhood here in Cockermouth; playing in the mill race, chasing butterflies and finding sparrows nests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    116
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Apeep into the past.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Interesting and informative. Staff were helpful and informative. You are not allowed to touch items in 8 out of 13 rooms but the 5 hands on areas make up for this, great to play a harpsicord. The garden is fascinating, take your time there is lots to see. Pleased we bought a guide book.
A pleasant afternoon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wordsworth House and Garden, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Margaret, thank you for your lovely comments. Half of the rooms in the house are filled with Georgian period pieces and objects that the Wordsworth family owned at one time or another, which does mean that we can't handle them in order that they are protected. The other half of the house has replica furniture in which visitors are allowed to explore more and learn how things worked and felt by picking them up and using them. The harpsichord is a great example and is something that adds to the life of the house as the music drifts through.
The guidebook is a great tool for those who want to know more detail about the life of the house and the family that lived here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Kitchen experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I would give this site five stars if they had a car park on site. Not their fault and there is one over a small bridge very close by. I thought the best thing about this visit was the very friendly staff and guides. Very nice ladies in the café and shop. The couple in the kitchen were lovely and very interesting. Cooking biscuits and offering rum butter crackers. Interesting house and well maintained small garden.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank amandahep15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wordsworth House and Garden, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Amanda, thank you for the review. It is a shame that we don't have our own car park - it is a hazard of being in a town centre. Wakefield road car park is just across the river, and it's the one we recommend as the most convenient.
We love it when there is cooking in the Georgian kitchen, the smell just permeates the house.
Our wonderful staff and guides are so knowledgeable and really enjoy sharing the interesting stories the house has.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good afternoon's entertainment”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Liked that there were hands on areas and tasting in the kitchen, dressing up and playing ... Lots to do for the young children

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wordsworth House and Garden, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for visiting, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. There is always something new to try, and not just for children! We have dressing up for all ages, toys to play with that some of our older visitors remember using and even staff have taken part in clapbread making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fascinating house stepping in the footsteps of a famous bard”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

the house is as close to the way it was when Wordsworth lived there. The garden is definatley to be explored,adults and children alike will enjoy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Wordsworth House and Garden, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your review. There was a lot of extensive research conducted in 2004 to make sure that we got the appearance and setting of the house correct. We hope you will agree that the result is excellent and really helps you believe that you have been transported back to 1770.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wordsworth House and Garden also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Wordsworth House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing