We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality personified”
Review of The Old Homestead

The Old Homestead
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockermouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Homestead
Ranked #13 of 16 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Right from the first contact on the telephone we felt as if we were welcome guests.
We travelled up on the motorways from the south on the "Flooding Friday from hell" and what should have been a seven hour journey took more than twelve. Christine Watson waited up for us and showed us to our room after we arrived very late, at 10.45pm ,and was only concerned that we were safe and would be comfortable, in spite of being nearly 4 hours later than checking in time.
The underfloor heating thoughout was most welcome and our bedroom was spotless, cosy and very comfortable, and in our en-suite the shower was big enough for a family ! Breakfast was flexible, plentiful and well cooked, with local sausages and eggs and bacon that taste real!
The Old Homestead has been most beautifully and sympathetically renovated and the bedrooms, breakfast room and sitting room are contemporary and yet in keeping with the age of the building. (The view from our window of the Lorton Vale was amazing.) Outside there are flower tubs and wooden seats in the cobbled yard and the setting amid the valley is peaceful and picturesque.
Nothing was too much trouble; our hosts Allan and Christine Watson were most hospitable and yet unintrusive. I cannot recommend this B+B and this less discovered area of the Lakes more highly. We wiil definitely return!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GertrudeJeckyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2006

Very empathetic conversion and comfortable accommodations.
I was very pleased to be offered not only a veggie sausage for breakfast but also gluten-free toast indicating that this hostess had taken full note of my food challenges when I had booked the accommodation.
Great walks around about and a short walk to an evening restaurant with reasonable food and a lovely location.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Endless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2005

My husband and I stayed at Byresteads for a romantic weekend away and we couldn't have been happier with this B&B. The hosts were warmly welcoming and made us instantly feel at home. Our room (Cruck 1) was homey and beautiful, and we really appreciated how modern conveniences such as showers and under-floor heating were in incorporated in a manner in keeping with the building's history. The bed was comfortable, the view from our window stunning, and the breakfasts excellent - perfect fare to fill one up before setting out to hike the nearby hills.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already planning future visits, both during winter and summer. We were lucky to have fantastic weather for hiking during our stay, but the rooms and lounge at Byresteads are so comfortable that a rainy day could be spent comfortably curled up on a sofa.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda1979_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
211
Reviewed 12 July 2005

My girlfriend and I wanted to treat ourselves while visiting friends in the Lake District. I found details for The Old Homestead on the internet and booked a night in the Four-poster room.

We were absolutely gobsmacked when we arrived! The farm building that houses the accommodation was a joy and has been restored to the very highest standard. The place simply oozes character and our bedroom was very, very romantic with a stunning view over the farm and the countryside beyond.

Although we only stayed for a single night, The Old Homestead basically made our holiday and we can’t wait to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2005

The Old Homestead [------] is a beautifully converted farm building at Byresteads Farm near Cockermouth.

We couldn't rate this place highly enough. It has a great selection of bedrooms, a lovely communal lounge and dining area and excellent breakfasts. Packed lunches are also available for those days in the hills [which we avoided thanks to a thunderstorm!].

Owner Christine was a superb host, even providing us with a menu, plates and cutlery so we could enjoy a late night Chinese takeaway. She insisted on us leaving the dishes for her to wash up as well! Her attitude throughout was helpfulness and professionalism and she took the time to explain to us some of the renovation foibles she'd had to endure when converting a building dating back hundreds of years.

Check out the website for pictures of the accommodation. It's bright, modern but sympathetic and very well converted. Apparently it's also possible to book the whole Homestead for private gatherings, which is something we'll definitely look into.

Fabulous!

4  Thank JInch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BfABerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Rose Cottage Guest House
Rose Cottage Guest House
#4 of 16 in Cockermouth
104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Six Castlegate
Six Castlegate
#2 of 16 in Cockermouth
196 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ouse Bridge House
Ouse Bridge House
#6 of 16 in Cockermouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
488 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
685 reviews
4.3 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Homestead

Address: The Old Homestead Byresteads Farm | Head of Lorton Vale, Cockermouth CA13 9TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Old Homestead Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing