We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Graysonside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Graysonside
Ranked #1 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband & I stayed at the graysonside recently with our 10 month old golden retriever.
It's a lovely place about a 20 minute walk from the town centre so lovely & quiet. The room was lovely & spotlessly clean. The staff very helpful & friendly. The full english breakfast was just gorgeous & a must have. Also served fresh fruit before breakfast which was a lovely touch. Would recommend for a nice quiet break.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably lovely but if taking your dog I would ask for the bigger self cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie609074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
67
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn by the Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Lovely fresh breakfast with wide choice in big sunny room. We had kippers on last day. Lovely room, nice and quiet. Very friendly welcome and v pleasant breakfast service. Near to Cockermouth and Bassenthwaite. Nice ride up coast to Silloth.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzprobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wonderful bed and breakfast. We stayed there for 3 nights in April for a wedding and it was absolutely perfect. We had a suite with loads of room. As far as cleanliness goes, the place was absolutely impeccable - everything looked brand new and sparkling, from the taps to the kettle. Not a speck of dust anywhere.
The owners were also perfect - helpful and friendly and ultra professional - bravo.
Breakfast was taken in a delightful room, bursting with elegance and the food was beautifully prepared and cooked. Fruit platters, cereals, yoghurts followed by a beautifully cooked breakfast of your choice - veggie options excellent too.
Would definitely recommend. Price was £100 a night which we thought reasonable for the size of the suite and the fabulous facilities and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We didn't really know what to expect as we travelled down the lane off the main road to the Graysonside, a little apprehensive at first. Once we opened the door we had a nice warm welcome from Jeanette on arrival. It was really lovely inside, the bedroom, the dining area et al were exceptional and so unexpected. We only stopped the one night however it was such a relaxing evening we could have stayed longer.
It was a Saturday evening and we ventured out into Cockermouth (about 10 mins away in the car) for an early meal, luckily having found a lovely place on spec.
I thoroughly enjoyed stopping at the Graysonside. Initially I was a little worried about the sound from the road as the A66 is relatively close, it didn't bother us one iota.
It was a lovely place and owned by some very nice people.

Room Tip: Take a larger room and have the space its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steved1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Highly recommended. Whilst in the area on business throughout the preceding year I have spent four weeks in one of the Self Catering Apartments - this now feels like my second home! I have never felt so welcome at any other establishment in the UK. First class breakfast; immaculately clean rooms and staff that are delighted to help with any of your requirements. A fantastic place to stay - 5 stars well deserved.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSUoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife had always wished to go to Cockermouth and we arrived at Graysonside on a damp afternoon. Janette could not have been more welcoming - our room had had some damage caused by the earlier rain so we were upgraded to an apartment. And what an apartment!! Fantastic just about covers it!! Bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, lounge with 2 very comfortable settees, central heating, immaculately clean, 2 TV's and Wifi. Janette was very knowledgeable about places to eat and the area and all this information was given freely to ensure we made the most of our stay. Off we went for our evening meal and came back to our warm rooms and a great night's sleep.

Then - breakfast - superb is a word that does not even do justice to this establishment. Great cereal etc buffet and a platter of beautifully presented fresh fruit brought to the table. Donna came to take the mains order and such a pleasant, bubbly young lady. The food was fresh, local, well cooked and presentation was wonderful and the range was amazing. My wife had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon one day - forget tiny pieces of salmon in the egg - large slivers wrapped around a timbale of egg on toast any many slivers on the plate too. Asked for a grilled tomato also and was presented with cherry tomatoes on the vine and grilled - just magnificent. The bacon is amazing and fresh local free range eggs too. Plenty of toast and coffee and Donna was back 2 or 3 times to ensure everything was fine and to see if we needed anything else.

Dining room, as the rest of the establishment, very clean and well-presented with great scenic views through the huge windows.

All in all, this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in - we have already booked for 2 weeks next year as we had already booked elsewhere for this year.

DO NOT miss this gem if you are looking for accommodation in this area - there is no way you will be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volvos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just spent a lovely night here again - even offered me an evening meal - makes a lone female feel safe and willing to go that extra mile.
last visit my car let me down and Andrew got his jump leads out to jump start my car
what can I say they are just the best

Room Tip: All rooms to the same high standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2710Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.9 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
246 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graysonside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graysonside

Property: Graysonside
Address: Graysonside Farm Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Graysonside 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graysonside Guest House is a former Farm House offering high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in Cockermouth. All rooms provide space, quality and comfort. Apartments are also available at affordable prices for both Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering. Graysonside is set within the Lake District National Park and is just a few minutes away from the centre of Cockermouth - home to one of our famous poets William Wordsworth. Graysonside suits both corporate/business and tourist guests, situated in a very good location for both the Western Lakes (Bassenthwaite, Loweswater, Crummock and Buttermere), as well as the towns of Workington, Whitehaven and Maryport. We are only 20 minutes' drive to Keswick and 30 minutes to Carlisle. Due to its location Graysonside is streaming with wildlife, we are regularly visited by a red squirrel, a Great Spotted Woodpecker, an abundance of garden birds on our feeders and rabbits roaming the garden. You can sit and watch our wildlife from our breakfast room. Graysonside also offers the additional benefits of free off road parking, a secure cycle lock up and free Wi-Fi. Graysonside has been recognized as five star gold by the English Tourism Council and rewarded a breakfast award. We look forward to welcoming you to Cockermouth and providing you with a wonderful stay at Graysonside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Graysonside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graysonside Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing