We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constant high standards maintained”

Rose Cottage Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Cottage Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Constant high standards maintained”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have just been visiting Cockermouth on business and stayed, as usual at Rose Cottage. Everything about the place works and works well for the guests.
The rooms are very comfortable clean and contain everything you require , an excellent breakfast and friendly hospitality. No wonder the place is generally full

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillwalker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    27
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
49
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Made very welcome when we arrived. We were given the studio for two nights. Lovely room, clean and tidy. However we had to ask for the shower to be sorted out as it went from cold to scalding! When we returned it was sorted. The breakfast was good and nicely presented. Lovely little b&b

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyParker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a wonderful two night break 11th June (Groupon deal) very nice hosts, comfy bed and pillows, breakfast everything fresh and tasty lots of choice and cleanliness first class highly recommended what a find




  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppermint2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Rose cottage in Room No 8. Unfortunately this is a rather small room and as there were no vacancies we couldn`t ask to be moved. However the cottage is in a great location, it is spotless and the decor is very good. the cooked breakfast a treat. The bathroom and shower were good also. With a bigger room the rating would be higher.

Room Tip: Room 8 is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Owner at Rose Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry you felt the room to be small but on the deal you were on that is what was paid for also, we are Rose 'Cottage' not an Old Vicarage so essentially rooms are not huge. We do have two larger rooms available on request at a supplement. We are pleased everything else was OK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The room wasn't big, but quite adequate for our needs. The cottage was well situated and really quiet. A huge and extremely comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities, tv, good heating and en-suite bathroom. Gallons of hot water and lovely soft towels. Breakfast was at an appropriate time for people on holiday and very satisfying. Pleasant walk into the centre of town, so we could leave the car in the ample parking area. The hosts were welcoming and friendly and the beauties of the Lake District a short drive away. Our stay was a Mother's Day gift from my son and I would happily get the same gift again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briannewcastle956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arrochar
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rose Cottage was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. The price was right, the hosts were excellent - very helpful and informative. The house was ideal, the room spacious - and very clean with a large on suite bathroom. There was nothing too much trouble for them. The welcome tray was great for a cuppa and a first class breakfast. Great place would recommend. Very dog friendly as well.

Room Tip: We had a front room and no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driveguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a really enjoyable two night break at this well cared for establishment.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner's daughter, who was providing cover while the owners were out collecting the supplies for the smashing breakfasts. She did a good job of greeting us and making sure we were comfy.
The room, being in a cottage, is of course not large but it is big enough to be very comfortable. Good quality bed, pillows, quilt, chair and decorations all give a feeling that trouble has been taken to get it right.
Very good standard of cleanliness in all areas of the building and car park, plus a nice little garden.
Our dog was made welcome which is always a good way to make a dog owner happy and a great walk is to be found just a few hundred yards from the front door.
Thank you John,Susan and Olivia for a memorable stay at your lovely home.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the first floor. It looks onto the garden at the rear so no road noise and a quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quadkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
241 reviews
3.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage Guest House

Property: Rose Cottage Guest House
Address: Rose Cottage Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rose Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage Guest House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing