We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little B&B...”
Review of Croft House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croft House
Ranked #1 of 16 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you value decor over a quiet night's sleep, then this is the place for you. It can not be faulted for it's contemporary look and feel, however, steer clear of the rooms on the second floor. As this is a house, and not a hotel, it can be noisy when the people upstairs are walking around! A sign in our room asked us to turn off the bathroom light when not in use, as the fan disturbs the people above...I think they need to think about how the people above disturbed us! The wooden floors are a great touch, but are not the best for sound-proofing! Definately the best place to stay in Cockermouth. As the main high street can get a bit rowdy on Friday and Saturday nights, it is a god-send when you can retire to your room down a quiet back street! Don't think you can escape the noise totally though, when people are walking past your room singing after a good night out, at 3:00am! The only other down-side to this otherwise fantastic place, is that the breakfast (although lovely) is only served until 9:00am on a Sunday morning! I really would've liked a bit more of a lie-in...:(
Other than those two minor points, I would definately recommend Croft House.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Excellent family room for 2 adults,7yr old and a 20mth old,eddie and barbara were a joy to meet and service was first class they were more than helpfull with baby bottles ect. Full english breakfast was well cooked and delicious and my daughters loved the pancakes anf fresh fruit . Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannestothart306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Everything about our stay was great, we had a comfortable family room (ideal for 2 adults and 2 kids), received a friendly welcome and enjoyed some quality breakfasts. I especially liked Eddie's warm welcome and friendly service at breakfast, always happy to chat! Also great to have a lovely fresh fruit salad...but could I get the kids to eat it? I blame the pancakes! Super location in the heart of Cockermouth and it comes with parking. I am very glad to recommend the Croft Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vst08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights, warm welcome from Eddie, great breakfasts (including black pudding) and very comfy beds. Quiet and peaceful. Shower could have been better but that is the only slight negative. Would recommend it without hesitation. Thanks Eddie.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danthecavingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Croft House. It's in a very quiet road in the centre of town but within close walking distance of everything in Cockermouth. There's a good choice of pubs and restaurants nearby.

Parking is easy and free as they have their own parking area behind the b&b. Just make sure you have the directions from their website as Challoner St isn't marked and is in a one-way system. But don't let that put you off as it's well worth it.

Beautifully redecorated in stylish contemporary style following the 2009 floods. We stayed in the superior room on the ground floor. The room had a very comfortable king size bed with beautiful quality linens. (or could be made into 2 twin beds) And a very spacious, tiled bathroom with a bath and separate shower stall and heated floor tiles.

Lots of attention to detail with thick waffle dressing gowns, a tea tray with an array of choices and fresh flowers in a vase. The breakfast was the best spread I've seen in a long time and all locally sourced. The proprieters were welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Superior room was worth the small amount extra as it was spacious. It's right by the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amahlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My friend and I were down in Cockermouth from Glasgow, Scotland for our friend's hen party. I found this B&B on good and was drawn in at first by the prices and then decided i wanted to stay there after reading all the great reviews on here. We arrived and received a very warm and enthusiatic welcome from Eddie before being shown to our room which was lovely. It was very clean and the decor was lovely. Some other nice touches in the bedroom were the bath robes, the toiletries (which smelt lovely), the biscuits, a small bowl of sweets and a selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. We were given our room key along with a key for the front door which was great as we would be coming home late. The beds were very comfortable and the room was a good temperature so we had a great sleep. Moving on to breakfast, it was great! so much to choose from including cereal, fruit, pancakes! (a favourite of mine) and home made bread as well as cooked items like bacon, sausage and fried bread (everything was tasty. All in all it was a great stay, i really liked the place and will definately come back if i am in Cockermouth again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for the first time this week. I've stayed in every other hotel/B&B in Cockermouth and The Croft is simply the best.

Very friendly hosts, beautiful room, amazing breakfast and all for such a low price!

I will never stay anywhere else in West Cumbria again!

Room Tip: I had the superior room (ground floor) which is bigger than the other rooms. However my colleagues h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Six Castlegate
Six Castlegate
#3 of 16 in Cockermouth
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Graysonside
Graysonside
#2 of 16 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Cottage Guest House
Rose Cottage Guest House
#4 of 16 in Cockermouth
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft House

Address: 6/8 Challoner Street, Cockermouth CA13 9QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range: £75 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing