We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Croft House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croft House
Ranked #3 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Im not noramlly one for B&Bs preferring to stay in big impartial hotels. However this wonderful place is truely fab. Flexible with their check in times for me, Room exactly like it looks in the pictures, clean, tidy and warm. Wonderful bedding. Good nights sleep. Parking. Very tasty breakfast. Very nice hosts - perfect balance of friendly and personable yet not too much and can be left alone when wanted.

All in all a wonderful stay. Will definately be coming back on my next trip up the lake district.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
97
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Another excellent stay with Eddie and Barbara. Really fantastic breakfast, cheery service, clean comfortable rooms and really nothing at all to complain about. I can recommend the kippers for breakfast, and wholeheartedly recommend the whole establishment to you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerthemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

A great b&b in the centre with off street parking,lovely breakfasts, ground floor premium room fantastic,lots of nice little extras,big t.v. big bathroom with bath and shower cubicle. massive bed.
Eddie is a great host and will recommend nice places to eat in town.

Room Tip: choose premium ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pemmerson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

A great B&B. We stayed in the ground floor premium room as a twin ensuite, but this can easily be made into a double king. Fantastic ensuite with high class shower and bath. Loads of room. Comfy beds, wifi available, large Freeview TV. Good tea and coffee facilities with chocolate biscuit. Very quiet, great sound insulation from other rooms.

Breakfast was fantastic with a good selection of fresh and dried fruits and nuts with Greek yoghurt and flavoured yoghurts, in addition to cereals. There was also homemade bread and dropscones (Scotch pancakes) with honey, maple syrup and a variety of preserves. Beside the full English breakfast there was the choice of a daily special. Whilst we were there this was kedgeree and smoked haddock with poached eggs.

Great hosts with a fantastic sense of humor. Well situated with parking behind the house and some good eating establishments within walking distance. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne4brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is the way it should be done! We stayed 4 nights in this wonderful B&B. We had a ground floor room which was large with a large stylish bathroom (it contained a bath as well as a large shower). The bed was large and very comfortable. There was evidence of attention to detail everywhere.

I guess one the best apects was the breakfast. Much as we enjoy a good English breakfast (we only have them when on holiday!), they can be a bit too much after several days. Eddie offers a special each day. We had smoked haddock and poached eggs on day one, kippers on day two and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on day 3 and on day 4 we opted for the fried.

Anyone wanting to run a top class B&B should stay here for a week to see how it should be done.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very comfortable accommodation, the best breakfast we can recall, with something for all tastes. The hosts were helpful, made us feel at home and, unlike some we have experienced, were not over-bearing. We have already booked to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Deservedly the number one in Cockermouth. Quality rooms, comfortable beds and excellent food all add up to a very pleasant stay. Look no further.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft House

Property: Croft House
Address: 6/8 Challoner Street, Cockermouth CA13 9QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing