We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Croft House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croft House
Ranked #3 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
BROUGH
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room had everything we could possibly want and more. It was warm and immaculately clean. We really appreciated having real milk for our drinks. The breakfast was first class, too. The homemade bread was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHIRLEY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
97
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother recently in the twin room at the top of the building and we had a very pleasant stay.

The room was clean and tastefully decorated, very well equipped with everything you could possibly ask for from toiletries to tea and biscuits.

The breakfasts were very good; we had the special which wasn't on the menu both mornings and they catered for both of us having gluten free diets.

The host was funny, pleasant and polite although we didn't get to meet his wife who was obviously the chef and mastermind behind the doors!

There was one incredibly minor complaint that the cashew nuts served on the breakfast table were stale, but other than that, everything was fresh, healthy and tasty; definitely recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

An absolute delight to stay in this homely, comfortable, clean and welcoming Guest House. Eddie and Barbara were an absolute joy to meet. A real Home from Home - It wont be the last time I stay there - I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Croft just for 2 days but we are so amazed! service was unbelievable! Owner is really friendly, courteous and polite person. Food was delicious! Today we had a magnificent dish - rice with fish and egg with some spices - heaven! Our room (no 4) was quite small but really tidy and clean, also it has very nice bathroom. Only one negative - not enough parking spaces.Price? For this stay? We think its cheap - 70 pound per night for 2 people. Definitely we will back to Croft!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _kamel573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

It has been 16 months since my husband and I last stayed at Croft House but if anything it was better than ever before

We had the ground floor room, number one, with its super king size bed and fabulous bathroom. It was so very comfortable and we could not have asked for more. Eddie and Barbara were very attentive hosts and the breakfasts, including the daily specials, were superb. Barbara's cooking gets better and better but Eddie's jokes definitely don't !!!

A credit to this very hardworking couple and without doubt we shall return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Croft for a week whilst working nearby in Workington, my room was lovely and clean, breakfasts are delicious and the hosts are friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

I liked my stay so much that I'll be back again next week and I'll definitely be recommending Croft House to friends and family!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Lovely place to stay great location for shops and restaurants as well as the road network for places on the coast which is good for work. Very friendly comfortable great breakfast including fruit salad and alternative to full English. Many thanks I will be back. Sue

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft House

Property: Croft House
Address: 6/8 Challoner Street, Cockermouth CA13 9QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing