We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant fault this place”
Review of Croft House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croft House
Ranked #3 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cant fault this place”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stopped off at the Croft house for a night stay on our way upto Fort William. All I can say is I have no complaints at all. Everything about this place was perfect to the lovely touches for the guest when they arrive, ie: bowl of fruit and boiled sweets in the room. Dressing gowns provided , bottle's of spring water a good selection of hot drinks for the room. Spotlessly clean rooms, in fact the whole place is. Good bed and pillows, very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Choice of cereals, fresh fruit salad, fresh cold meats, juices, cooked breakfast with very high quality sausages and bacon, eggs free range and was offered smoked salmon with scrambled eggs too. There is a choice on different days.
Nothing is too much trouble and the locals were so friendly towards us too.. Shame we only stayed the 1 night and will 100% be going back..
Other companies could learn something by going here and seeing what is on offer for a good price too..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbie7563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
103
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

A cosy B & B with excellent facilities and a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Eddie and Barbara obviously love what they do and their enthusiasm for making their guests feel welcome and comfortable shows at every turn. The entire place was smartly-appointed but homely, our rooms were very cosy, especially my son's back attic room. We had extra head room, he had added character The en-suite shower rooms were luxurious and the towels were of sumptuously generous proportions. Waffle dressing gowns made us feel even more pampered. And I musn't forget the free Wi Fi. Hospitality was warm and friendly but not intrusive. Breakfast was superb and included fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, homemade bread and jams, yogurt, juices, porridge, plus the cooked menu, featuring a full meaty option, vegetarian alternative, or vegan. Having stayed at another let's-go-there-again establishment earlier this year, The Holt at Benenden in Kent, I find it hard to choose between its morning-time feast and that at Croft House as my champion of breakfast champions. However, I think that Croft edges out in front on the strength of the daily fish specials, which for our three breakfasts were kedgeree, salmon & scrambled eggs and haddock & poached eggs.
Croft House is in the centre of Cockermouth, a solid little town with robust community spirit (which pre-dates, I am sure, the neighbourly bonding after the November 2009 floods). Cockermouth is certainly not 'pretty pretty' and probably not the stickiest of tourist honeypots but all the more appealing for that. It has a good crop of interesting independent shops, it's a teensy weensy bit foodie and arty, but not enough to be pretentious. The Bitter End and the Tithe Barn provided hearty traditional dinners (after an evening or so, you might want to just opt for a starter!). There are smarter restaurants, a bistro or two, at least two curry houses, and plentiful fish & chips as well. The town is home to Jennings Brewery and also the house where William and Dorothy Wordsworth were born. This handsome but modest National Trust property exuded an air of being greatly loved and cared for by a team of dedicated volunteers.
On the edge of the Lake District, proper - we drove to Buttermere in half an hour - Cockermouth also has the heights of Cumbria's natural beauty just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie_M_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

A wonderful place to stay. Clean, very comfortable and the attention to detail is second to none. Its a real home from home. Eddie was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Barbara's breakfast was delicious. If I was looking for a B an B in the area again I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I stayed overnight at Croft House when on the first leg of the C2C cycling route. Eddie was wonderful, he stored our bike securely and made sure we had everything we needed for a comfy stay. The room was large and the bathroom spotless and modern. Overall Croft House is extremely clean, modern (newly refrubished following Cockermouth flood) and homely and Eddie and Barbara have done an amazing job in restoring Croft House as judging by the pictures of the damage done by the flood they have certainly worked hard to get it up an running again, indeed they had only been open a week when we stayed. The cooked breakfast was fresh and tasty and all local produce, we were given an excellent choice and I havnt seen as good a selection of fresh fruit, cereal and nuts anywhere else which has been as good as that offered to us.

I booked Croft House from earlier reviews before the flood and we were not disappointed in any way. I'm just a little disappointed in myself that I havn't managed to get around to leaving this well earned review before now.

We wish Croft House every success and would certainly recommend a stay here with full confidence and we will certainly stay again in the future.

Only thing negative was the evening meal we had in the Bitter End Brew Pub just a short walk from Croft House. The pub must be surviving on the CAMRA write up as, although the beer was lovely, the food definitely was not. We had to book in advance as it is very busy which amazed us. I don't think our choice was to blame as several plates of dried up pasta and very average pub meals seemed to be the norm. At approx £15 a plate I thought it a tad expensive for the portion given. We later walked around Cockermouth and there were far better eateries, in fact The Trout (which is a quite an expensive hotel to stay in) had a lovely bar and lounge area open to the public and we were impressed at the standard of the meals served in there for a comparitive price. The place was jumping.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krumblelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed for 1 night only for a business trip (wished I could have stayed longer) the service and hospitality was brilliant from Eddie and his wife, breakfast was excellent.
Without doubt this is one of the best B&B's that I have stopped in, DONT MISS THIS GEM.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packages1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
3.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft House

Property: Croft House
Address: 6/8 Challoner Street, Cockermouth CA13 9QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing