We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very warm and cosy well equipped cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

wildthing...
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very warm and cosy well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the Manse Cottage for a short break at the beginning of March. The cottage provides everything you need, lots of crockery, cutlery, towels etc. and is very clean and comfortable. The location is ideal for visiting the North Lakes and lots of places of interest in the area. We will certainly be returning.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Esther we hope you will come back again soon.

Best wishes
Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomH423
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed here during February 2016 whilst visiting family in the area. The Manse was a great find. Located just minutes from all the main West Cumbrian towns, this cosy little cottage is not only well equipped and cosy but also excellent value for money. I visit the area regulalry and have to say this is one of the best cottages that I have found. I will be visiting again for sure and would highly recommend to others.

Date of stay: February 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
Dear Tom

Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to give us this valuable feedback which is valued by us and our guests. We hope to see you back at the cottage soon.

Best wishes

Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt so at home we intend to return.”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our week visiting relatives in Cockermouth and walking. The cottage was thoughtfully equipped and was warm and comfortable during an extremely wet week. Ideally situated for The Western Lakes. We look forward to our next visit in better weather.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The efficient heating
Liked least: The microwave was too high.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
Thank you for your very thoughtful and lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in much better weather.
Best wishes

Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Compact, cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Compact and well equipped cottage with the benefit of an open gas fire which was lovely on the cold evenings.Lovely friendly pub opposite open four days a week which also has WiFi. Kitchen really well equipped. Overall a cosy retreat and loved our stay.
Places to visit when the weather is not so good are the slate mine, the brewery,White haven museum and the coastal aquarium.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open gas fire
Liked least: Reversing out of the parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review Paul and Helen we do appreciate your feedback. We do hope you might come again -if do mention us to your friends.

Best wishes Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic Self Accommodation with Everything, including value for money”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Manse Cottage is circa 1600 with a similarly old pub opposite (a community run pub whose staff and clientele made us most welcome). Beautifully appointed by the owners, with helpful discreet notes on the use of very wide range of kitchen equipment, and appliances. The owners have ensured the accommodation is very clean and comfortable as a home away from home. There is good parking on-site. The cottage is conveniently located off the highway with easy access to the coast ,and the eastern Lakes District. In six weeks travelling through Scotland, Snowdonia and England, the Manse easily represented the best value for money of the 15 places we stayed.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy comfort, with excellent kitchen and appliances
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you Robert for your lovely comments and we really appreciate yo taking the time and effort. We hope you might come back but if not please mention us to your friends.

Best wishes,
Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeWhile...
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, clean & well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Comfortable, clean and well equipped cottage. Good location for touring Northern end of Lakes and surrounding countryside.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, presentation.
Liked least: Lack of dishwasher (but no space in kitchen so not a complaint!)
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review Ange we really appreciate you taking the time and we are really pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again.

best wishes Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCT4
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightfully cosy cottage and a good 'home' for those who go to the Lakes in order to get out and about.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cosy little cottage is situated in a 'working village' where people get up and go about their daily business early, so don't expect a quiet lie-in in the mornings, but there again, the village community-run pub, which is directly opposite, will serve you a magnificent pint of local Jennings beer in the company of chatty locals rather than tourists and the staff of the village stores have time to impart upon you any amount of local gossip. This is a village in which to linger and savour the quieter side of Lakeland life. This delightful cottage is situated at the North West corner of the Lake District, away from the hustle and bustle of the Central Lakes but near enough to the Western Fells or the coastal region to give good days out whatever the weather and if the weather is really 'pants' Robert & Lesley have supplied a plentiful selection of books, maps and DVDs to while away the hours. But the big problem is - the beds are so comfortable it is difficult to get out from under the covers, go down stairs and switch on the coffee machine.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Nice to see our cottage is getting known in far flung places like Cornwall. Thank you for your lovely comments and your time taken to do this review. We have lovely guests now from all over the world now which we find amazing. Please come back again or tell your friends.

Best wishes,
Robert and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.