We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This holiday exceeded all our expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beckside

Southwaite Green in its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green Living area, overlooking the beck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green
Living area, overlooking the beck
Beckside from beck
Comfortable sofas (and chair!) in Beckside
Upstairs bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen from the gallery
Downstairs bedroom
Front door
Kitchen
Kitchen close up
From the organic fruit garden
View from the biodigester
Air source for heat pump
Rainwater harvesting tank
Barbecue area
Stoop at view point
Reeds in reed bed
Down on the beck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rward2
Belper, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This holiday exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 9 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

This was our third stay at Beckside. The standards at the cottage have remained equally high since the first time we went. The accomadation is built to a high standard and well maintained and still feels "fresh". The beds are extremely comfortable and the en-suites are spacious. The kitchen is built to a high standard and well equipped. Extras such as a box of local organic vegetables and bottles of locally brewed beer are very welcome. We appreciate the accomodation's green credentials: solar water heating and now electricity, underfloor heating from heat pumps and green waste management. Their success is that they work so well you are unaware of them.
The land around the cottages is managed to encourage wildlife. The twice daily 200m dog walk to the pond is a pleasure.
The location is quiet. The nearest town is Cockermouth (10 minute drive or 60 minute walk along the river) which is a very pleasant market town and much less tourist orientated than Keswick (20 minute drive). There are good pubs with food in Loweswater, Lorton and Buttermere. The fells at Buttermere and Winlatter are easily accessible and Borrowdale is only a little further.
We have had good weather everytime we have been. Sadly the weather cannot be guaranteed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDandB
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious cottage, beautiful secluded location with access to northern lakes”
Reviewed 5 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We were so impressed with this eco friendly luxury cottage, with it's peaceful and secluded location. A high specification cottage in a courtyard setting with lovely grounds, a stream, pond and wild flower meadow. It certainly enhanced our enjoyment of the holiday. We were lucky to have good weather, but can imagine it would also be extremely cosy in autumn or winter. Marna was welcoming and friendly without in any way being intrusive. We took our collie and he certainly enjoyed romping around in the grounds. Should we holiday in the area again, we would definitely re-book.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malkerns Swaziland
Reviewed 14 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Twickenham
Reviewed 2 September 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suffolk
Reviewed 12 June 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suffolk
Reviewed 5 June 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed 21 April 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Quality, sympathetic design, environment
Liked least: CD, DVD etc needs to be updated
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing