We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect for the area”
other travellers have booked this property
Stanger from the small orchard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stanger from the small orchard
Stable Cottage from across the beck view from dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Stanger from the small orchard
Stable Cottage from across the beck
view from dining area
living room
dining room
twin room (with the old beds - these have been replaced)
double room
bathroom
floor plan
River Cocker (fishing available)
our organic market garden
cutting meadow for hay - we welcome help bringing the bales in if you are with us at hay time
Aberdeen Angus cows in Shortlands
orchid in Tarn Dale - one of our County Wildlife Site fields
May is the best time of year to smell the delightful scent of the apple blossom.
Christmas Pearmain apple
wheat - June - we make bread from the wheat grown and milled on the farm.
The sunsets can be quite spectacular. This was taken in July when we were bringing in the hay.
The twin bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Francine...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for the area”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This pet-friendly cottage (we brought one cat and one dog) is ideally situated in a very quiet, yet not remote location near Cockermouth / Buttermere - a perfect base to explore the Lakes. The accommodation is spacious and in immaculate condition, well heated and with no shortage of hot water. The kitchen is well appointed with all the utensils you may need, whilst the large lounge is a nice place to relax with TV etc. We were made very welcome by the friendly owner (a loaf of home-made bread awaited us on arrival) and we would have no reservations in recommending this cottage to any family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morley W...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for a quiet break”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stable cottage is attached to Low Stanger farmhouse which is in a quiet peaceful situation surrounded by fields and cultivated areas on which is grown organic vegetables. The owners are delightful and gave us a warm welcome and home baked bread an arrival. The layout of the cottage is such that the two bedrooms and the bathroom are on the ground floor with the lounge and kitchen on the first floor giving access to both light and views over the farm and surrounding area. We found all we needed for a comfortable and most enjoyable stay. There are many delightful walks locally but for excursions farther afield a car or some other form of transport is essential.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easysteve...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Lovely, quiet accomadation.”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely welcome from the owner Michelle who had even baked us a lovely loaf of bread!
We chose this cottage as we were keen to explore the north lakes area and found the location perfect. Cottage was very well equipped with everything you could need along with lots of info on local places of interest.
Will definitely be returning!
Thankyou Michelle.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A beautiful barn conversion, with living accommodation on the upper floor, allowing you to enjoy views over the farm and beyond, and bedrooms downstairs. Fully stocked kitchen, table with 5 chairs, two sofas, TV and open fire. Michelle had left a fresh loaf of homemade bread for us arriving. The beds are really comfortable, loads of storage space. The best electric shower I have ever used - it tells your teenagers how long they have been in the shower.
There a lots of lovely walks, including down by the Cocker where there are otters, birds including chaffinches, blue and great tits, bull finches and herons, and bats including noctules and pipestrelles. Visit the Stanger Spa, local pubs for great food.
The visitors book has many people who have had multiple visits, that says it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in March 2016

We as a family have returned again and again to this fantastic cottage, since our first visit in 2010, this will be our 9th or 10th visit. (We have just re-booked for august 2017) A lovely, comfortable, homely cottage in a stunning rural location. Michelle is a fantastic hostess and provides equally fantastic freshly grown fruit and veg in the market garden, which you can see from the lounge window! Driving up the road in a morning, to be greeted by the stunning Buttermere fells, it's a sight that for me, can't be beaten.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amabell18...
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable well equipped cottage in a beautiful, tranquil location.”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were made very welcome on the farm by the owners who run a market garden and provide their produce to purchase on a daily basis, delicious veg, fruit and eggs. The cottage is very well furnished with a modern kitchen, wash room and bathroom. There is much provided to make the stay comfortable such as storage heaters, books, toys and films. The location is perfect for visiting the Western and Northern areas of the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable and warm.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan j
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage, wonderful area!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot recommend Stable Cottage too highly. Spotlessly clean and confortable, very welcoming hosts and a great area for walking if you are no longer able to climb the fells. However the high hills are just a few minutes away if you must! The beautiful river Cocker runs close at hand, deer browse just below the window! Can't wait to return. A very special place if you want to chill out and enjoy stunning scenery. Thank you to the Hughes's for our amazing week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was perfect
Liked least: we loved it all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing