We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect and peaceful retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
Gorgeous Lake District Cottage close to Coniston Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous Lake District Cottage close to Coniston Water
Living Room and the Balcony The Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Gorgeous Lake District Cottage close to Coniston Water
Living Room and the Balcony
The Living Room
The Balcony
The View of 'The Old Man of Coniston' from the Balcony
The Large Kitchen
The Large Kitchen and Dining Area
The Large Kitchen
The Aga oven
The Dining Area for 8 People
The Snug area off the Dining area
King Sized Bedroom
King Sized Bedroom
The walk-in Shower Room
Super-King Sized Bedroom
King Sized Bedroom
Roll Top Bathroom
The Nook-available for 2 extra guests-please see details
The Nook
The Private Enclosed Garden
Nearby Coniston Water, a few minutes short walk.
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susie_kir...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect and peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have recently returned from a long weekend in Charcoal House. A truly fantastic cottage which has been decorated to the highest standard. From the warming Aga in the open plan kitchen, to the magnificent wood burner in the upstairs lounge, our family enjoyed the comfort and relaxed atmosphere this beautiful Lake District cottage offered. Simon’s advice about dog friendly places/pubs to visit and eat at, came in very handy - especially our visit to the Black Bull in Coniston with its microbrewery. Any small issues we had, were dealt with quickly and in a very friendly manner by Simon - who was very approachable and keen to ensure our stay was the best it could be.
I can highly recommend this wonderful place to anyone looking for a ‘touch of class’ to make their holiday very special. You won’t be disappointed.
5, very well deserved, stars from a highly impressed family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Thank you Susie for your absolutely lovely comments. You’re a wonderful person and it was a pleasure having you stay at Charcoal House.
We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S
1 review
“Perfect Lake Districk Break”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great weeks break in the fabulous lake district with Friends, scenery breath-taking, just goes to show what the UK has to offer.

Cottage as described, very clean and a good size for 4 adults, 3 children and a dog (with the Nook) all the facilities you need, great location to explore the surrounding areas.

PS. recommend the Blacksmiths Arms in Broughton Mills as a great cosy pub with really good food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thanks Nick. Great to hear again how much you enjoyed you stay and enjoyed the house and the area.
You were great guests and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We recently stayed at Charcoal house and cannot recommend it highly enough. We regularly take a cottage break, at least five times a year. Charcoal house is superbly equipped, everything you could hope for in a home from home to provide a truly relaxing break. The downstairs kitchen, diner and snug makes an excellent family space and the lounge, upstairs, overlooking the mountains is fantastic and very relaxing, especially with the log burner. We have stayed in many places which advertise themselves as luxury cottages and the standard at charcoal house is far superior to any we have stayed in before and excellent value for money. We even had a nutri ninja and were able to enjoy a fantastic range of healthy shakes each morning with brunch. We could have happily stayed for longer! Likewise, Simon was fantastic to deal with and made the booking process very easy. We will definitely look to return to one of his other four or five star properties. The only comment I would add for consideration for anyone with dogs and children, such as ourselves, is that the garden is just over the road access. Personally, we would prefer the garden access to be directly from the house for safety reasons. However, this is in no way a reflection on what is advertised just a thought for people with young children or dogs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Hi Sarah. Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were so impressed with Charcoal House and the standard of the property.

Just a note so that other users don’t get confused by the wording of the review. The garden isn’t the other side of a road. The is totally enclosed and secure garden and is opposite the house on the other side of a private off-road driveway for the house and 5 other properties that make up the tiny hamlet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort277...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Omg what a fantastic place. There was 7 adults and dog in our party and everyone enjoyed their time there the whole layout is great we sat round the kitchen table talking and playing games when not out and about seeing the local areas. The ladies loved the Victoria bath, us blokes had no chance, maybe next time. Would recommend staying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review.
I am delighted you all enjoyed your post Christmas break so much and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Lakes retreat”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time over Christmas at Charcoal House. The house is really spacious and is entered through a welcoming, well-equipped kitchen with an AGA keeping it lovely, toasty and homely. The decor in the house was the perfect blend of country comfort with contemporary colours so it appealed to all ages within our family, all of whom had a great time. The views from the balcony off the first floor living room are great and the log burning stove in the room makes it even more cosy. We'd love to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thanks Nick. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas at Charcoal House and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A
Pangbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a great location for southern lakes”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Charcoal House is meticulously presented, feels like everything inside is new and done with lovely style. Great location for Coniston, Windermere and Grisedale. We will be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is fab and a great location for the Southern Lakes
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Hi Paul. Thank you for your lovely review. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish2466
1 review
“Great accommodation with lots of space”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

All the equipment you could possibly need, but found the argali difficult to cook on. I think maybe a standard cooker would have been useful as we cooked in the nook all the time. Beds were really comfortable and the place was very clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nook was exceptional
Liked least: Arga was difficult to cook on
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Hi Trisha. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t like the Aga cooker but as you discovered, we have a ‘normal’ full sized conventional cooker in The Nook that you used.
I’m pleased to hear that you were pleased with everything else and gave us top marks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing