We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Awesome views and challenging hike

Did this with my wife in February as we were staying at the caravan site nearby. Started from the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
472adrianh
via mobile
Coniston loop

Did a loop (avoiding the tourist path) on a sunny but brisk February day. Old Man of Coniston via... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
gsquinn2016
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 560 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Coniston
from US$40.60
More Info
from US$64.95
More Info
from US$52.78
More Info
from US$64.95
More Info
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
458
91
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
91
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low water goats water dow crag walna scar road amazing views isle of man sun inn great walk car park tough climb coming down well worth the effort morecambe bay blackpool tower worth the climb great mountain steep road
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

A casual review of travel information in an information shop in Coniston assesses this climb in the most difficult category. We paused to read this (we are both mid 40s), but decided to set out on the climb and see how things went. At times a walking stick is useful, but you can get by without one. The trail is a good steep challenge for novices, but it would be a shame if the spare and dire information in the guides were to discourage someone from taking on this engaging (2.5 hrs. each way) and fine walk. The top was windy and clouded, with exhilarating breaks and views. Lots of other climbers towards the top of the trail, but generally not crowded. A great pub at the lower trailhead.

Date of experience: September 2010
11  Thank GaryMacI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

If you want to Ascend Coniston old Man, and want to enjoy the views & have some solitude (Until you reach the Summit that is) Use the Jack Diamond path. Head up to the car Park at the Walna Scar Road (Walk up from Lake Level if you are a purist like me).
Follow the unsurfaced road west for about 5 minutes to the Quarry road bearing up the old man to the right (North). At the l/h side of the quarry road, a path up the grass is clearly visible. Follow this all the way up to the summit (Use a map), as it is Cleary marked by cairns. Enjoy the solitude, away from the crowds.

Date of experience: March 2011
10  Thank keith1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

My partner and I enjoyed many trips to the Lakes together before our son was born, including lots of pleasant hill walks and hairy winter mountain scrambles.

I have to say that our ascent of the Old Man this week (28 Aug 08) was one of the more unpleasant walks I have had, I would recommend that if you have children (our son is 7) that you only attempt it on a fair summer's day, we did start on a nice morning but the cloud dropped down and we spent nearly 4 hours in high wind and heavy rain. Still got to the top, but felt like we had spent 3 hours climbing up an unattractive quarry. I felt very cheated that I didn't get to see the amazing views on offer, but still felt very proud of a "Coniston Little Man" who made it to the summit.

Started and finished at Heathwaite (on Ordnance Survey), total time 5 and a half hours with a small child in inclement weather! Don't be fooled!

9  Thank vikkimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

From Coniston village turn right to walk over the bridge then follow the road round to the left past the petrol station,cross the road and walk up the road opposite the petrol station which leads onto Walna Scar road,the start of your climb to Old Man Coniston,carry on until you come to a gate.There are 3 paths you can follow to climb to Old Man Coniston,for this walk follow the path that goes straight ahead,and will eventually lead to the lovely views of Goats Water.The walk continues alongside Goats Water,whilst your walking keep your eyes out for the rock climbers who climb the steep face of Dow Crag,on the opposite side of the water.
Carry on to the end of Goats Water and begin a steep climb round to the right which will be the beginning of your climb to the summit of Old Man Coniston.On clear days you will have the beautiful views of the scenery around you.
From the summit follow the zig zag path that leads you down to Low Water,then continue to walk past the mine workings where you can see the ruins of the old slate and coppermines.
Follow the path down and you will reach the gate you first entered,go through the gate and back down Walna Scar road into Coniston village.

27  Thank Philfromcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews