We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when visiting the Lakes”

Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must when visiting the Lakes”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When I heard I was visiting the Lakes I made sure this was a mountain to achieve!
We started from the town, walked up the copper mines and to the top and we weren't disappointed!
The views were fantastic, the walk was interesting and gave a level of challenge that wasn't too taxing and allowed for stops to explore.
It was busy on the day we went so the mountain itself lost a bit of that isolated feeling that we enjoy when walking... especially when we had to wait for people to walk down past us (as at some points the route narrows).
At the top, again it was busy but the views were fabulous!
We continued along the ridge to Swirl How then down Prison Band, past the reservoir and down past the YHA back in to town.

This is definitely a walk to cross off when visiting the Lakes. Start early to avoid the crowds of families and take a camera!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joannacparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    76
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Mountain Climb”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Took 2 hours 40 minutes to reach the Cairn at the peak. Spectacular views of the Lake District. Recommend walking across to Dow Crag and then looping back round the old man to Terra Ferma.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gogs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Walked up from the fell road area just above Coniston. The first part of the walk is quite easy but gets far harder once you reach the tarn. The final ascent is hard scree but is worth the effort. Pack a picnic for the top and enjoy a pint at the bottom in the Black Bull!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paleninteresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great mountain check weather first”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great day out summit is lovely and not. To hard for average walkers
Check weather first can catch you by surprise fog etc

Helpful?
Thank jonathan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breath taking views.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We climbed the Old Man via the YHA at Coppermines. I have not done anything like this for years. It was a nice day and the views on the way up were absolutely breath taking. The last bit near the top was a little bit of a harder climb but when I got there ....... WOW ..... it had all been so worth it and the enormous sense of achievement I felt. I was happy that I did not go back down that way and instead walked across the peaks on the opposite side ...... fantastic. My reward when I returned to Coniston, a beautiful steak and some real ale.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Man of Coniston also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Keswick, Lake District
Buttermere, Lake District
 

Been to Old Man of Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing