We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Coniston Holly How

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Coniston Holly How
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Really nice place, amazing food and great people. Would definitely come again.so many exciting activities to offer and not too far a walk from any shops or claaat. If you come ask for Mandy, brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armandoalvarez666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    36
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
12
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Brilliant first accomodation on our Hike through the Lake District. Even though the venue could do with a makeover, our stay was absolutely brilliant with good facilities, excellent breakfast, close proximity to town centre of Coniston, super friendly staff... Nothing more to add! Recommendable +++

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ymorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This was my first time visiting a YHA so I didn't really know what to expect. The rooms were small and functional as I expected (we stayed in a 4 berth which comprised two bunks and a wash basin). There were clean and plentiful shared showers and toilets, a large canteen, bar, a reading room/lounge and a games room. Also a large well-stocked kitchen if you wanted to cook your own food. The food was competitively priced and pleasant. In particular the cakes and puddings which are freshly made were very nice. The staff were polite and very helpful. This won't be the best room you'll ever stay in but if you want a cheap stay in a beautiful location then this is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

An excellent family friendly YHA. The staff care. The food is great. The rooms are clean.
All in all a fantastic place to stay. A credit to the staff.
Thank you for a brilliant Easter break.
Paul, Claire & the 5 brats.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thanks for your review - it was a great atmosphere over Easter with all the families. Everyone from guests to staff played a part in making it a success. We're planning more free family evening activities over half term and the summer holidays. I think big screen Wii tennis could be a hit. The best way to keep in touch on events is through social media. We'd love to welcome you all back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was running a trip to the lakes for a weekend of diving and needed accommodation for 13 people. The YHA's seemed like a good option and was proved right. From the time we arrived to when we left we felt at home and very welcome. The beds pretty comfortable and sturdy for bunks and the food was excellent - just what was needed for days out in the hills and under the lakes. The only complaint I would have is the snoring of my friends but cant blame the hostel for that! - Seriously the only thing I would say is the room only had 1 plug for 12 beds so take a 4 way extension

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMcDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for your review, Ian. We're really pleased you all enjoyed yourselves - our staff thought you were great fun. I think you are the first diving club we've had here - there's loads to dive as you discovered - Coniston Water, Hodge Close Quarry, Bannishead Quarry, and there's a scary account of someone diving a shaft in Coniston Coppermines on a mining website!
We are hoping to get more sockets in the rooms hopefully when the hostel gets refurbished. We definately want to welcome you back - how about a Christmas meal and disco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

A comfortable hostel in a stunning location, with a choice of walking to suit all abilities and with the lake a stone's throw away for water sports enthusiasts. The staff are friendly and the generous portions of food are delicious and good value. There is plenty of room to relax after a day on the fells and a games room for the kids. A well stocked bar selling local beers is the icing on the cake. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneBurdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thanks for your review Jane. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - we are really pitching Holly How towards families and those who want to enjoy the great outdoors. The Winter Warmer offer has been very successful and I am sure there will be more promotions in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hostel in an ideal location for walkers/climbers who want to explore the beautiful surroundings. It was clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. My only small criticism is that there's a lack of plug sockets in the rooms - you end up 12 people trying to share one plug, which is problematic if everyone wants to charge their phones and/or cameras - I would suggest bringing a small multiplug. Otherwise it's very good and I would recommend staying if you're visiting the area on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAConiston, Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thanks for your review. I agree entirely about the power sockets and I hope that when our fantastic hostel reaches its turn in the YHA refurb queue that these will be high on the agenda. However I am glad that you enjoyed your stay - the snow experience is one we won't forget for a long time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
6.4 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
0.8 mi away
YHA Coniston Coppermines
YHA Coniston Coppermines
#2 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.9 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.6 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#4 of 10 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
10.4 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Coniston Holly How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Coniston Holly How

Property: YHA Coniston Holly How
Address: Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Coniston Holly How 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 150 year-old Lakeland slate country house, part of the YHA Youth Hostel network. The Coniston mountain range is on the doorstep and Coniston Water is just minutes away on foot. A the end of the day, relax with a local beer in our comfortable lounge before a hearty meal in the bar / restaurant. Donald Campbell's restored powerboat Bluebird is coming home to Coniston in 2012 and the valley is also being used for the filming of Swallows and Amazons children's book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YHA Coniston Holly How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Coniston Holly How Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing