We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B with amazing view !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bluebird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluebird Lodge
Ranked #6 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great B&B with amazing view !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a weekend staying at this B&B and was great. Lovely owners which were very welcoming. Are room was great, and the bed was so comfy, we took our dog with us also which was not a problem as dogs are welcome.
Cooked breakfast in the morning which was great with cereal and toast also, the view while sat in the breakfast room is amazing ! The lounge is available for you to go and sit in and to enjoy the nice fire. Paul was great helping us out with walks for us to do around the area.
Would definitely come stay here again as it's a great little B&B in a lovely area of the Lakes !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenay, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Visited the Lakes for sort break and found the Bluebird Lodge.
Shown to a lovely double room, with TV, coffee/tea making facilities, sofa, fireplace etc, and the comfiest double bed that I have ever slept in. Bedding was spotlessly clean and crisp too.
Breakfast was cooked by Paul and was very tasty and filling, setting us up dor the day ahead.
The new owners, Paul and Debs, are very friendly and intent on making your stay as comfortable as possible. Would definately stay there again if in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here for a few nights on a swimming/cycling trip last week. It is a friendly, relaxed B&B, and the owners were so accommodating finding somewhere for me to store my racing bike, and letting me have an early breakfast before any of the other guests. They showed a genuine interest in my plans for the weekend - in fact, I think people in the Lake District are noticeably friendlier! The room was spotless, the bed comfortable, and a lovely hot shower and bath. In a beautiful part of England. All this for really very little money, you will not find better value for money! I look forward to staying here again when I next visit the Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Had a fantastic stay. Lovely 2 bedroom apartment, all mod cons,own kitchen and bathroom, spotlessly clean, comfy beds and fantastic views!. Great breakfast from Paul. Pet friendly as well, able to take our dog who was allowed in all the pubs in the village - had to try them out to help the economy!!!! highly recommended. Minutes away from coniston lake and great walks. 10 minutes from village and about 20 minutes from Bowness. Make sure you check out the stars at night. breathtaking!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The room we stayed was spacious with a nice outlook over the fields however it was quite cold. The shower leaked and the towels were thin. The pillows were also very flat. breakfast was good but as with most b&b's wasn't served until 08:30. As it had just changed owners there was no wifi available and we had to pay cash for our room. I felt that in view of the fact that not all services were up and running that it was overpriced. I believe that it will be refurbished in the off season so may prove more value for money then .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickA629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth B, Owner at Bluebird Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
thank you for your review, we do value all reviews both good and bad, however i am a little surprised by your comments, i only wish you would have raised the problems with us before you left not waited to air them on here.
when you knocked enquiring about availability and i showed you the room, i explained that we had just taken over and that we were having issues with BT and that we had no wifi but that it was freely available 10mts across the road at the neighboring hotel, you were quite happy with this i did say that if you wished to look for another guest house that had wifi that was not a problem, i also explained at the same time that we were awaiting the card machine (thankfully both card machine and wifi have now arrived, hooray!!!!) and gave the option of cash or a bacs transfer when you arrived home after your stay.
As regards the room problems you encountered, you stayed for 2 nights so if you had only mentioned them after your 1st night we could have addressed them straight away, (there are 4 pillows on the bed and 2 spare in the wardrobe) the shower door is now done, the central heating on constantly, if you had only turned on the thermostatic valve, it does work (the valves were turned off on both radiators)
we are very flexible, if you required an earlier breakfast again please ask, we don't know if you don't ask, we have a lot of walkers and always try to please, i did notice that you came down around 8.45 for breakfast (our time for breakfast is 8.30-9.15) so i can't quite understand why you mention the breakfast time

we believe that £35 per person a night for a double room with ensuite jacuzzi bath and shower, with fireplace and sitting area is good value before any refurbishment with or without wifi!!!

rick the cleaner did find you phone charger, i did try to contact you on the number but it comes up unobtainable (aussie number i think) i you wish to contact me we can arrange postage for the charger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrow-in-furness
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely comfortable lounge for patrons. A breakfast that will set you up for the day. Welcoming owners who have several lovely dogs and welcome guests dogs too. Beautiful setting, 2 minutes walk to Coniston Water. Peaceful for a good sleep. We enjoyed our weekend there.

Room Tip: Room 4 has it's own enclosed garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth B, Owner at Bluebird Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
thank you very much for your review, i was lovely to me you, your mum and your lovely pooch we are really happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again with your dad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Debbie and Paul had just taken over Bluebird Lodge and could not have done enough for you . We asked about different walks and Paul put us a pack together which helped no end. Rooms really clean and comfy, the view from the guest lounge and breakfast room is wonderful so relaxing. Breakfast was very nice, could not fault anything not far to walk to the village either. Thanks Debbie and Paul will def be back .

Room Tip: if you have pets they are very welcome also room four has a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaddock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coniston hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Lodge

Property: Bluebird Lodge
Address: Hawkshead Road | Waterhead, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom guest house with 2, 2 bedroom self catering apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bluebird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Lodge Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing