We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluebird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bluebird Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The owners and property are amazing. Such a warm and friendly welcome with glorious views of the old man of coniston and only a stones throw from the lake. Highly recommended. The cafes and restaurants serve high quality and tasty food and there are good links to other lakes and parts of the lake district. :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

booked last minute on the Friday and arrived at 20:30 and were greeted with a warm welcome, excellent hosts. The whole weekend was great apart from weather but nothing can be done about that, the B&B is lovely and cosy with great surrounding views, hosts had great knowledge of the area on walks, pubs and restaurants. highly recommend the black bull for dinner and a pint. the breakfast was amazing, cereals, fresh coffee, fresh juice and a full English great start to day, in perfect location for tourist attractions and walking short drive to Ambleside and Windermere. all in all perfect weekend hosts were absolutely perfect and welcoming (even lent a coat as misses forgot hers) rooms perfect with en-suite tea coffee etc...... perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martynkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in November and had a great time. We had such a warm welcome from Paul who had lots of knowledge about the local area including walks and pubs etc.

Our room was basic but very cosy and clean with a very comfy bed and good facilities such as kettle, Tv and en suite.

The breakfast was a very good full English with toast, fruit and cereal also available. The breakfast room has stunning views of the Old Man of coniston.

The hotel is in a great location just 5 mins walk into Coniston and is ideal for walkers as it is close to walks such as Tarn How's and of course the Old Man.

Dogs are also very welcome as the owners have there own. We were charged £5 per night which is very reasonable but didn't end up paying as our dog is very quiet and didn't make a noise while we were there which was a nice touch.

Overall we had a great stay which was helped by the feeling of getting great value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Honestly cannot find a bad word to say about this B&B! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the moment we walked through the door until the moment we left (and we really didn't want to leave!) Paul and Deborah are fantastic hosts, they have the perfect balance of being friendly and helpful without being overbearing. We stayed with our border terrier puppy who was also made to feel very welcome. We stayed in room four which is absolutely lovely! It's almost like a suite with it's own sofa and fireplace! The jacuzzi bath was a fantastic touch after a long, wet walk. We will definitely be returning to the Bluebird Lodge, so pleased we've found it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k11ytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Bluebird Lodge over New Year for a much needed rest and escape from Christmas! I had a single room which was very comfortable, warm and cosy. The bathroom was next door but this was not at all a problem, I didn't notice anyone else using it.
Paul and Deborah were very welcoming combining a homelike atmosphere with a nice living room and an open fire, with a good breakfast and advice about the surrounding area. The value for money was exceptional and I'll definitely stay there again when I need a break from life in the countryside.
Coniston is beautiful, both the lake and the village a five minutes away on foot.
I would very much recommend a stay here, enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rowanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a weekend staying at this B&B and was great. Lovely owners which were very welcoming. Are room was great, and the bed was so comfy, we took our dog with us also which was not a problem as dogs are welcome.
Cooked breakfast in the morning which was great with cereal and toast also, the view while sat in the breakfast room is amazing ! The lounge is available for you to go and sit in and to enjoy the nice fire. Paul was great helping us out with walks for us to do around the area.
Would definitely come stay here again as it's a great little B&B in a lovely area of the Lakes !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenay, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Visited the Lakes for sort break and found the Bluebird Lodge.
Shown to a lovely double room, with TV, coffee/tea making facilities, sofa, fireplace etc, and the comfiest double bed that I have ever slept in. Bedding was spotlessly clean and crisp too.
Breakfast was cooked by Paul and was very tasty and filling, setting us up dor the day ahead.
The new owners, Paul and Debs, are very friendly and intent on making your stay as comfortable as possible. Would definately stay there again if in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Lodge

Property: Bluebird Lodge
Address: Hawkshead Road | Waterhead, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom guest house with 2, 2 bedroom self catering apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bluebird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Lodge Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing