We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to Keep it a Secret, but it's brilliant”

Mountain View Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Southport UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wanted to Keep it a Secret, but it's brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Looking for B and B on a very busy weekend in the Lakes and came across Mountain View, which has more of a feel of an apartment, but the breakfast is to die for, as is the view, and the owner is lovely and couldn't do enough. It was warm, comfy, very well appointed and we didn't want to write a review because we wanted to keep it a secret, but that wouldn't be fair on the owners who deserve every credit and couldn't have made us feel more welcome for a short stay in a place which will become our favourite in the Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Mountain View B&B in Coniston is great place to stay. It is a couple of minutes walk away from the centre of Coniston and has a pretty mountain view out the French doors at the back. You literally have your own perfect little cottage to stay in. On the ground floor there is a fully equipped kitchen and lounge with sofa and TV. Upstairs you have a generous sized bedroom and a lovely bathroom with Whirlpool bath, the whole place is immaculate. Melanie is very friendly & helpful and brings you a superb breakfast in the morning. You couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonRockAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here again for our anniversary.
2nd year in a row and normally we move on to somewhere new or different, but as all the reviews have said, including our own from this time last year, Melanie and the Mountain View are perfect. Enough said!!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We could hardly believe our eyes when we were shown to our 'living quarters'... The B&B has one bedroom, and a comfortable living room and kitchen, as well as a spacious and spotlessly-clean bathroom. The view over the mountain is breath-taking. Breakfast was delicious, and Melanie was extremely friendly. We cannot wait for a second visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebekahAndNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Mountain view B & B has everything you could wish for - beautiful views, great location next to the village of Coniston and a delicious full breakfast brought over by Melanie every morning. We really enjoyed our stay and could not fault it in any way. The cottage is kept immaculately clean with fresh towels left every day and a whirlpool bath which was great for relaxing the muscles after a long days hike.
In regards to local walks - We hiked up the 'Old man of Coniston' on the first day - this you can do from your front door and is a great walk with Spectacular views. On the second day we walked into Grizedale forest with the starting point only a 10 minute drive away.
All in all, a perfect trip to the lakes and I would recommend this B & B to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Mountain View B and B made the perfect base for us (retired Australian couple) to explore the Lake District. Coniston itself is much quieter than the bigger nearby towns. We loved being two minutes walk from the village, with restaurants, pubs, shops etc. The self-contained flat at MountainView B and B was cosy and perfect for us. Features we appreciated: huge home-cooked breakfast with choices, fast internet, great view, friendly hosts who were there when we needed them, but let us get on with our holiday when we didn't. We will remember Coniston and Melanie's MountainView B and B long after we have forgotten faceless hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BookChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

What smashing little place! Immaculately clean and tidy, nicely furnished, amazing views and you get your own living room and kitchen - perfect!! Bedroom and bathroom are both pretty big - and the bath is a whirlpool! Shower very decent too. The landlady is a star: made us feel really welcome and cooked a great breakfast. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.2 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Oak Howe, Coniston LA21 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a self-contained extension on my house. It was supposed to be a Holiday let, but the authorities wouldnt let me as it was a new build so i have to do bed and breakfast. It has all the amenities of a Holiday let, own kitchen etc. It has a Double bedroom upstairs, and a sofa bed downstairs, so it can sleep 4. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed And Breakfast Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing