We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay and be so well looked after in a perfect location. Could recommend it highly.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklands Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stokenchurch
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay and be so well looked after in a perfect location. Could recommend it highly.”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at Oaklands Guesthouse for 4 nights prior to travelling across for another week in Ambleside and this was our first visit to the lakes so staying at this guesthouse was a great first impression and we would certainly hope to return to spend time there again. Judith was just so helpful with anything and nothing seemed too much bother for her. Our room was excellent, so comfortable and roomy with lots of little extras to make it even more pleasant. Breakfast was wholesome and always served lovely and fresh which gave us a good start to the day. Judith was just so helpful and nothing seemed too much bother and we even managed to spend a few hours sitting out in their lovely garden enjoying the views and relaxing. The guesthouse is in an ideal situation being just a few minutes from the centre of Coniston where there were several good pubs for eating out in the evenings. For walkers Judith is always able to help with ideas and there are numerous walk books and maps to borrow during visits. We could not recommend Oaklands more and it is apparent why so many people return there on a regular basis. We hope people enjoy their stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueStokenchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
61
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Near the M25
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed at Oaklands during a recent long weekend in Conistion, for this reviewer to take part in the annual Fred Whitton Challenge Cycle Ride, and from the moment we arrived nothing was to much trouble.
The room with lakeland views to die for (over Coniston Cricket Club) was clean and easily big enough for our needs, the wall mounted flat screen telly with excellent picture quality was a nice touch, and as for the bed, see above. A clean and tidy bathroom finished things off nicely.
Breakfasts were excellent, and on the day of the ride due to a 'silly o'clock' start, a full choice had been left out for me. Judith also offers a packed lunch for just £3 is very good value, and features several choices and is ideal for days tramping in the hills.

Location is good as well, with a short walk to the main village. Overall a very enjoyable stay, with a 112 mile bike ride in the middle. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeRouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddington
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Our second stay at this lovely and traditional Guesthouse. We had a great welcome when we arrived from the owners who went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Our room had a stunning view of the mountains. The room was well equiped and the bed was just so comfortable. Breakfast was a highlight.

The owners have lived in the area all their lives and have an entensive knowledge of the area, walks, other attractions and where to eat in the evening.

All in all we had a great visit which was great value and we are looking forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Excellent B and B in every respect. Super Location,Made to feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast,clean, comfortable and spacious accommodation overlooking the fells. Judith will provide super packed lunch on request as well as good advice on walks and places of interest to visit
An excellent base to explore fantastic countryside as well being a short walk to the lake.
Coniston is warm and welcoming without the crowds at nearby lakes.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VernonPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coniston hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.0 mi away
Monk Coniston
Monk Coniston
#4 of 6 in Coniston
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowdore B & B
Meadowdore B & B
#6 of 15 in Coniston
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Guesthouse

Property: Oaklands Guesthouse
Address: Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaklands Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklands is a lovely spacious stone built house.Our beds are of superior quality and ensure a comfortable nights sleep. There is tea/coffee/hot chocolate available in your room. We offer a full English breakfast using local produce where possible, also available is a selection of fruit, cereals and yogurts.We have been living in the local area most of our lives so if you need any help planning walks for the day etc, we can offer suggestions and the use of maps/guides of the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oaklands Guesthouse Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing