We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big place!”
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Restaurants in Coniston
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Big bar area, seperate dining room, lovely food & good beer. I ordered the special steak & himself had the blue cheese burger. Both were scrummy. We'll be back.

Thank mammydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Ordered the mixed seafood linguine with chill, lemon and oil. What actually arrived was a bowl of pasta coated in a greasy, creamy sauce with no lemon flavour and a few charred slithers of chill! Offering only a unpleasant burnt taste. The seafood element consisted of small mussels and prawns not exactly mixed seafood, where was the squid or chunks of fish? Very disappointed with the dish and only ate the prawns and mussels! I will say the prawns were cooked well. Service at the crown is good as are the surroundings.

Thank stdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownInn123, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal and can only apologise if the seafood linguine was not served to the standard it usually is. If only you had complained at the time we would have done our best to correct it or offer a substitute. Hope this does not put you off visiting the Crown again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a lovely lunch here. Home made tomato soup, homemade bread and mussels in white wine. We shared a bottle of lovely white wine and were able to take our little dog. All in all a very good experience, great service and lovely fresh flavours...

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just arrived home after a wonderful stay in coniston we went to the crown for drinks , a nice cosy pub with skysports for the footy fans lots of locals in there so you know its a good pub. Food is also on the menu but wouldnt pay 14pounds for a cheeseburger ! Would go back Again !

2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Slightly disappointed as the reviews I had read were all good. I'd say it is above average...food was good not great. Service was ok, not good. But nothing as good as the reviews I read beforehand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Beesoviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Inn also viewed

Coniston, Lake District
 
Coniston, Lake District
 
Coniston, Lake District
 

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing