We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pub food”
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Ranked #13 of 19 Restaurants in Coniston
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Kemerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good pub food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good pub type food. We had the steak and ale pie which was very good the mussels we had were over cooked but were tasty never the less.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    104
    44
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Pub?”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Visited a couple of times during the week for tea time drinks.

Beer choice is the standard chain pub offering -certainly no match for some of the other village pubs but friendly service goes a long way. The staff give the impression that they care about the customer which is not always apparent in other Coniston pubs. Staffing levels sometimes seem to be quite low which can lead to delays at the bar even at quiet times particularly if someone is ordering food.

We did not eat here this week but from previous experience I can say that the food is usually pretty good. Just remember that it is a pub not a restaurant and to manage your expectations accordingly. Certainly as good or better than any other pub in the village.

Probably one of the best value pubs in the village. Best presented pub by far - always clean and tidy. Lacks the 'character' of some of it's competition but on balance is currently my choice of best pub in Coniston

Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food but not quite 5*”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Over a week long stay in Coniston we visited this place a handful of times for drinks and 3 times for food.

The drinks were served well and we didn't have to wait long at the bar on either occasion.

Food was great on all occasions too but on one night the waiter did confuse two steaks cooked differently which was not realised until we both started eating.

I also had a sundae which contained some added plastic (possibly part of the ice cream tub). The waiter just laughed this off when i told him about it and no refund or apology was recieved.

Limited number of tables in the bar so can get busy quite quickly

Helpful?
Thank 14James86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice pub - good beer and food.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had lunch here while visiting Coniston. We ordered two of the 'posh' fish finger butties and one 'cone' of chips. You actually get two small (but not that small) fillets of battered fish cooked chip shop style, between two slices of 'bloomer' style bread, and a bit of salad garnish on the side. Very nice - would have preferred the bread to be buttered though (it wasn't), just like a butty should be.

The food isn't cheap - in fact a bit pricey, but it is a tourist area, and the pub is in a prime location, so not really unexpected.

Good beer here too - it's a Cask Marque pub. There's also a sizeable paved area outside with tables and brollies - very nice for a warm and sunny day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RPD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Grilled gammon that had never seen a grill in its life!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You think to yourself okay i will try here again as there are not that many pubs which serve food in Coniston.
We ordered a "grilled" gammon and a steak pie. Our food came in under 10 mins of ordering, mine looked very nice but the crust was cooked but the contents was cold. My husbands gammon came out and it looked like it had been microwaved, all pale and no colouring what so ever. We took them back to the bar and just staited that it had all been microwaved, and you should not say it is grilled gammon when in clearly was not. The food was taken back to the kitchen and then the staff member went back behind the bar and carried on working. There was another gentleman behind the bar when we made our complaint. He was the manager and it was him we were waiting to get the money back from. Not an appology, not even an acknowledgement from the manager when we spoke with the other staff member.
Its the second time i have eaten in here each time a i think that they know that you have only have so many places to eat in that they will always get custom, good or bad so are not that interested you just what cash the tourist is putting in their pocket.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NolaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Inn also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing