We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Coniston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Coniston
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I will start by telling you this is a little write up of my days at The Sun. (please bear with me) Trip was to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary.

When we arrived at The Sun, we were a little early and arrived at the bar to be told the room was not going to be ready until 2, hence we went to have a look around Coniston and a spot of lunch. When arrived back the room was still not ready, this was because when I booked I informed them that I has asthma and could not have a feathered duvet or pillow. They were therefore getting another Duvet. They were very helpful and accommodating.

The room we had was cosy, TV, Bed, cupboard, dresser, couple of chairs and a beautiful bathroom. The room could have done with a little make over, little bit of wall paper that needed sticking, tiny bit of paint however when you look out of the window and see The Old Man of Coniston none of that matters, Fantastic views and the weather was good.

During our stay we had the Fish and Chips, Sausage and Mash, Burger, Lasagne. All of the meals were perfect, the fish was as good as some we have had in other places, however again the views from the conservatory helped, you could also see the chef in the kitchen cooking. Fantastic breakfast and we tried something new each day. All meals were very well cooked. The waitress was perfect and we got to understand that she was returning to Australia today. We were very glad to have had such a fantastic waitress.

The bar in the evening was always full, warm and lots to drink.

On departure we found the price reasonable, 3 nights for the price of 2 and our meals.

Overall very nice place to stay within distance of most places. Views and meals and the staff, I would recommend The Sun to most people I know.

I would say that there are no real facilities for disabled people.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    61
    54
    22
    49
See reviews for
51
103
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed in Coniston for 9 days to carry out some geological mapping. Came down from Old Man Coniston to be greeted in the friendliest, warmest manner possible. The pub is SO beautiful and well put together we thought we may be a little too wet and very muddy. However, the staff laughed and showed us to a rack for our outdoor gear set aside for the likes of us filthy hikers!!

The staff were fantastic and the owner has set a new standard is customer service. They are vibrant, funny and professional. The kitchen can be viewed through a large window in the conservatory, it is super clean and the food is fantastic.

There is a laid back feel to this rural heaven! But everything is perfection from the views of the mountains in the conservatory (with a water feature) to the cosy fire lit area by the front door. Even the garden is immaculate yet homely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

once again i visited this great place not to stay but for a drink lovely warm pub everyone was friendly good ale choice friendly staff should be visited cheapest in coniston locals were friendly i highly recomend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coniston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

thankyou so much to the staff at the Sun Hotel, for looking after our party on the 7th september2012, We didn't experience any of the difficulties i have read on the other reviews. The service and the food was excellent. Lovely country pub great views very warm and welcoming, Thankyou again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Away from busier pubs in centre of town, we stopped for beer and to call a taxi to take us back to Little Langdale. No taxi service locally but vv kind stand-in bar staff lady gave us a lift as she came off shift -- can't be too many places where this would happen...

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stafford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed at the sun inn a few months ago and could not fault the place, it's was clean, welcoming, the staff were friendly and did everything they could to make us feel welcome, in the evening there was a very welcoming atmosphere in the bar and we felt so at ease and relaxed. Our room was beautifully decorated and the views from the hotel were breath taking. Even the full English breakfast the following morning was fab. Can't thank the hotel enough for a fab few days away. If your thinking of going there I highly recommend it, it really was the perfect retreat and I certainly will be going back, thankyou so much xx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claremc1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

The staff here are very rude and ignorent. They don't care about a customers needs and see customers as an inconvinience. The food was awful. Cold and under cooked. I wouldnt feed this to my dog. Not worth the price. I saw one woman helping herself behind the bar, she may have been staff but she put herself first over the customers. I shall not return and shall warn others not to either.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anon11240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coniston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Coniston

Property: The Sun Coniston
Address: Coniston LA21 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Coniston
The Sun Coniston Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing