We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Coniston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Coniston
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Called in here a few times whilst staying at caravan club site down the road , lovely pub selection of real ales and allow dogs in , the landlady was very helpful lit the fire for us and even charged my phone up x going back in April x see you then .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mishyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    61
    54
    22
    49
See reviews for
51
103
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

It is not often i would write a review on tripadvisor but our recent experience at The Sun Inn in Coniston defiantly merits one. Food fantastic and Marcus the chef could not have been more helpful. Always great to see someone so proud of what they do. Young Kyle working behind the bar provided a top class service to our group and shone enthusiasm. Sharon the landlady is probably one of the friendliest and nicest person we have ever met in a Lake District business - well done you for really going out of your way to look after your clients. We will be back and in the meantime we would not hesitate to recommend others to go and experience the exceptional customer care that we received.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

After a bracing walk in the Coniston countryside our party of 14 descended on The Sun for a 50th Birthday celebration and were not disappointed. As soon as we entered the bar we were met with a very warm welcome by Sharon and her staff who had prepared a special menu for our party. Having sampled the fine Lakeland ales in the cosy bar - Loweswater Gold a particular favourite - we made our way to the conservatory restaurant where we tucked into a delicious three course Sunday roast meal followed by coffee. The service was spot-on throughout, attentive but not obtrusive.Thank you to you all at the Sun for making this a special occasion. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

A group of us had a social evening in The Sun recently, where we all met for food. Many of us had eaten there before and the food had been good to excellent, but on this occasion it couldn't have been more different; the previously good menu had become one limited A4 sheet, and the specials board was blank! Of our group, my own Cumberland sausage meal (£11.95!) had a small, dried up sausage with a tiny amount of watery mash and an insultingly small amount of virtually raw veg. (Literally, one very hard floret of broccoli, perhaps a small dessert spoon of peas and three or four slices of carrot.) The fish pie looked watery and was apparently 'bland'; the lasagne was clearly old- it was dried up and chewy; and so on around our group. We really should have complained and demanded all our money back, it was that bad.

The Sun Hotel is a gorgeous old building standing over a lovely lakeland village, but it's reputation around the town and our own bitter experience says to me that it's there to make as much money as possible from the passing trade, and damn what they may think afterwards; I note that there are seemingly no replies from the owners after any of these comments. Frankly, they should be ashamed of themselves; I recommend that you avoid this place like the plague, for food anyway, and seek out one of the other much better alternatives in the village.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonandalan, Owner at The Sun Coniston, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hello Mike,

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
If you had mentioned at the time there was a problem, we would have had the opportunity to evaluate and rectify any issues. Unfortunately you did not.
We have been closed for the last few weeks and can only assume you visited just after the New Year when our menu was shorter than usual, although it still had 4 starters, 6 mains, several deserts and 6 children's options, which we feel is appropriate for the time of year.
All our food is homemade and freshly prepared.

The review below yours, is also from that same week and they had no problems with our food.

The Sun is a particularly good Lakeland country pub designed for grown
ups who like a decent selection of food (home made) and drinks - and
plenty of space to spread out. For most things, we are about the least
expensive pub in the village and have a bar, a garden, two patios, a
conservatory, two lounges, (a rowing boat in the rafters) and we share
those spaces with guests, visitors, passing walkers, locals, children,
dogs and our cat. We do not have loud music everywhere or flashing
machines but we do have a few bedrooms upstairs which most people who
have stayed here find comfortable.

One thing we do not do at The Sun is interact with Trip Advisor. It is
an American organisation beyond the reach of UK legislation that is
making a fortune at the expense of the hospitality industry world-wide
because no-one is able to opt out. It makes no effort to check the
veracity or identity of contributors and takes no responsibility for
their comments, however truthful or dishonest and it's allowed to get
away with that in the US because their law allows it to.

It imposes a Rating System which one is constantly encouraged to
"manage", (ie. massage) and it naturally favours anyone who takes out a
significantly expensive Business Listing with them. Here currently, that
would cost just under £500 pa. Here it also means receiving comments,
good or bad, while being threatened at regular intervals by the kind of
people who try to get something for nothing by lying about whatever
attracts their attention.

We do not play that game and we do not participate with Trip Advisor.
Instead we rely on comments made directly to us or by guests in the
Visitors Book. So if you enjoyed your visit then we are pleased to hear
that and hope we may see you again. If you didn't, we are sorry to hear
that but perhaps if you had mentioned something at the time, we might
have been able to do something about it. Ultimately though, we are a
decent pub in a very nice part of the country. That's it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coniston hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We used the Sun as a base for our kids fashion wear model shoot 3rd, 4th, 5th Jan 2014. Not only were we really well looked after, but owners Sharon and Alan also took the time out to show us some really interesting local locations - in particular Cathedral Caves. The rooms were well appointed with great views (especially room 5) and they didn't blink an eye at 6 small kids running riot through the place!! Highly recommend The Sun for young and old alike for great roaring fires, good beer and kind staff.

Room Tip: Room 5 for a great view, Room 6 for great comfort (and a good view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at a cottage in Coniston for the Christmas week and decided to eat out on Christmas Eve. Having visited the Sun on numerous occasions in the past, and it being in The Good Pub Guide, this was our choice - big mistake! I'd already had a pint of Coniston Old Man Ale down at the Black Bull which was spot on. So seeing it was available at the Sun - I'll have another - not good, tasted sour! Next the food - it was 5:30 and they'd just started serving, we ordered two hotpots (£14 each) from a very limited menu. When it came, the plates were ice cold and the meal was covered in pickled cabbage - also cold, consequently the supposedly hot pot was barely luke warm with a greasy dollop of battered black pudding! Finally half way through my wife found she was chewing on a piece of paper! Enough - owner found and complained to, he couldn't give a toss - threw the paper in the fire (which needed something to get it going!) and just wanted to get back to a group of young farmers. Waitress apologised and offered us puds or coffee - No Thanks!
I live and work in South Cumbria and am a frequent visitor to Coniston - not some passing tourist! This used to be the best pub in the village - not any more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank paulandvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night last weekend on a last minute booking and really enjoyed our stay. We were met with a smile on our arrival and were put in room 5, which was a bit on the small side, but suited us fine. It was clean, comfy and warm. TV was ok, as was en-suite bathroom.
After a bit of a rest we went down to have evening meal in the bar and enjoy some of the real ales on offer. Food was good, honest pub food, served with a smile, and well priced. Beer was good as well.
After a good nights sleep we ate breakfast in the conservatory, again, very good, set us up for our mountain walk in the fog and rain, the manager kindly let us leave our car on the car park for the day, with no charge. On our return we popped in the bar to dry a bit in front of the log fire and have a coffee before our drive home.
Not sure about the negative posts on here, perhaps we were just lucky, but we found the Sun to be just what we wanted, good value pub accomodation and food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgrumpyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Coniston

Property: The Sun Coniston
Address: Coniston LA21 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Coniston
The Sun Coniston Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing