We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!”
Review of Orchard Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the Easter break at the Orchard Cottage in Coniston. After a long week of work, we really needed a good break!

The Orchard Cottage is one of the best B&B we have ever been! The room are impeccable, and the dining room (where you have breakfast) has a large, bright window with a view of the Old Man of Coniston! I think that breakfast was one of the moments we enjoyed the most during the day: food is freshly prepared by Jean and David every morning and you can choose among a very good selection of things.

The owners, Jean and David, are very friendly and welcoming! They also showed us places to see and things to do in Coniston, which helped us a lot since we didn't have the time to look things up before getting there!

We really enjoyed our stay in Coniston: it gave us the opportunity to relax, do outdoor activities, taste excellent food, and enjoy nature without having thousands of tourists around!

Room Tip: Room n. 2 (which is the one we stayed at) has both a bath and a shower. It is very quite and has a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We are really pleased you found your weekend in Coniston relaxing and enjoyable and we thank you for finding the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have just returned from spending a night at Orchard Cottage in Coniston. It is perfectly situated in the centre of the vilage less than 50m from the nearest village pub! On arrival we were made to feel very welcome after a long hard day walking the Old Man. Our bedroom (Number 2) was lovely and warm and the en-suite bathroom had a bath and separate shower. There was lots of hot water for a relaxing bath - perfect! The next morning a delicious breakfast was served by Jean. If you want a central base to walk in the Coniston area then I wholeheartedly recommend Orchard Cottage. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3intrepidtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for writing your review and for mentioning that we are very central to the village and close to all its amenities. Look forward to you returning to Coniston and another visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for two nights with the sole intention of going up the Old Man but were advised against. David gave us details of another walk to try, which was successful. The B&B itself is in a great location, with walking distance to the lake and all amenities in Coniston. The breakfast room has wonderful views, if you're in there early enough to bag the best table! There's a lounge area for guests to use, we were too tired to, but it's adjacent to David and Jean's kitchen (at first sight I thought this strange) but it's lovely to be able to chat to them both. The room was sufficiently large enough for all our walking kit, a nice touch were extra coat hooks for our jackets. As room 3 opens out on to the kitchen area, there's a second door to prevent noises coming from the communal area. The bathroom is a good size with a double size shower, and wonderfully powerful, too.
What really made our stay was the welcome from Jean and David, we were shown through to their private area to admire David's calling ducks, and there were many other examples of warmness and friendliness. Jean made an extra packed lunch for a friend walking with us, there was nothing that was too much trouble. I'd definitely recommend trying the honey from David's bees at breakfast time.
When we return to Coniston, this will be our first choice of B&B, without a doubt. Stay here, you won't regret it, and will leave feeling like Jean and David are old friends!!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a huge bathroom, lovely shower too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your visit to Coniston even with the disappointment of not being able to walk the Old Man of Coniston but that you enjoyed the walk that you did do. Thank you for writing your review and hope that you are able to walk the Old Man on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed for one night at relatively short notice.

The location of this small B&B couldn't be better, within easy walking distance of all the pubs and shops, and it has parking which is a massive advantage over other Lake District resorts.

David and Jean are great hosts, there was a good selection at breakfast and the cooked breakfast was really tasty.

We will definitely book again when we stay in Coniston.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Assistant at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for writing your review and it would be lovely to see you again next time you visit Coniston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

It's often not easy to get one night in the Lakes, but Orchard Cottage did. It was very clean, very warm, very well appointed. No telly in the room, but then it's good to get away from the telly. Breakfast was spot on. Wife is very particular about poached eggs having a runny yoke and they were done to perfection. Car parking is a bonus in Coniston. Rates were very reasonable. Owners were lovely and couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: One room has bath, one room has shower. If you're walking and like a bath afterwards, then migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the Lakes and we would just like to take this opportunity to let everybody know we have now put TV's in all the guest bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had a lovely few days in the Lakes with our base at this lovely B & B in the centre of Coniston. Lovely rooms, all en-suite, spotlessly clean, beds firm but comfortable (for me). It was also great having a sitting room we could use - as there were 4 of us it was nice to be able to relax in the evening together and not feel we had to stay in our bedroom, or having to go out. Delicious breakfasts with everything you could wish for, and not far to go to find somewhere to eat in the evening.
The owners Jean and Dave were wonderful hosts, both a mine of information and nothing was too much trouble.
Would strongly recommend - and if/when we come back to the Lakes we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for writing your review. Glad we were able to help you enjoy your stay in Coniston and hope we will see again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for three nights at Orchard Cottage with friends. We arrived last so they picked their room first!! Both rooms were great, ours was number one and was at the front of the property. It was roomy and had a view of the old man of Coniston. It had a small bathroom with a shower. We had a good nights sleep every night. No disturbances.
Our friend’s room was bigger and had a larger bathroom with a shower. So if you like a bath, Room 2 is the one to book. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is also a living room with a TV to share with the guests from the three rooms. We used this one night for a night cap, it was relaxing.
The position of the B&B could not be better. If you are booking for location and want to be in the village then this is the place for you. It is right in the heart of the village and steps away from the variety of pubs. Coniston is a lovely little village and has a surprising amount of pubs for a small area.
There are plenty of walks that start right from the front door of Orchard Cottage.
No problems with parking on site.
The breakfast was great with fresh eggs laid by the owners own free range hens. We did not go hungry.
The owners have put a firm stamp on this B&B with their strong personalities. They were both very welcoming and happy to chat. They made us all feel at home. I enjoyed my time there and would return if I go back to Coniston. I also felt that the hotel prices were more than reasonable for the quality of the room and service.
This is a good quality B&B.

Room Tip: room 2 the largest. has a bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bankrupt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Secretary at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for writing such a good, comprehensive review it gives people an excellent insight in to what we try to offer at Orchard Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Property: Orchard Cottage
Address: 18 Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Coniston village Orchard Cottage offers bed and breakfast accommodation in 3 ground floor en-suite rooms. All rooms are tastefully decorated and include TV's, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Outside there is a patio area with seating where you can enjoy the award winning garden. Orchard Cottage also has an ample off road car park. Ideally situated on the Cumbria Way and other long distance walks, drying facilities and cycle storage available. Breakfast is served in the dining room and guests have a choice of cereals and fruit, cooked full English breakfast (eggs from our own hens), toast marmalade, honey (from our own bees) & jam. Free WiFi access. Prices from £35 p.p.p.n based on 2 person occupancy of a room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Cottage Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing