We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchard Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Set in a lovely location this Band Bed and Breakfast is very good quality. We only stayed over one night whilst passing through the village. Very clean, excellent breakfast. Most defiantly return one day .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just completed the "Furness Way" waking 7 days through the south lakes, staying in hotels and B&B's. Orchard Cottage was the best accommodation, best breakfast, best welcome - everything.
Our room was large, airy, super clean. Beautiful white cotton bedding, superbly comfy beds. Bath and shower (yes both, in a B&B!) with tons of hot water.
And the little darling ducklings and their parents - so adorable!
We are going back for a nice long weekend before the end of the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for writing your review look forward to meeting you again. P.S the ducks are growing rather quickly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We travelled to Coniston for a Wedding, and stayed in this B&B for 3 nights over a bank holiday weekend. The place is located in the heart of the village, but our wedding was over the lake, about a mile and a half away. The owners were very friendly and offered to give us a lift there, but we decided to walk anyway.

A particular highlight was the breakfast. We had read about the home-made honey on the reviews here and looked forward to trying it, but there was none available (its been a bad a bad year for Dave's bees). However the rest of the breakfast was fantastic. The eggs were from Dave's chickens which he rears in an allotment in the village.

After the wedding, we walked up the Old Man of Coniston on Sunday, and ate at Torver (2 miles away). Overall a very pleasant stay and we would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmb987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are hoping for a better summer this year than last, then perhaps the bees will produce more honey. At the moment the sun is out so fingers crossed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

After finishing our walk on the Cumbria Way from Ulverston this was a very welcoming B&B to arrive at. Our room was very generous in size and the bed very comfortable. Lovely lounge area to sit and relax in. Breakfasts were very good. They even made porridge for us which was not on the menu. Thanks so much for that. Coniston is a lovely small village and a great base to do walks from.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
We were pleased to see that your stay at Orchard Cottage was comfortable and hope that it helped you enjoy your overall stay in England. Thank you for taking the time to write your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

As an elderly but active retired couple we found Orchard Cottage the ideal accommodation with no stairs for our four day stay, with the very friendly hosts Dave and Jean. The rooms were immaculately clean and well equipped and the breakfasts were just to our individual liking. Coniston is a fantastic base for walkers, climbers and holiday makers in general (we've been many times before) the local people invariably being friendly and happy to pass the time of day - very different from the south east of England, although our home town of Broadstairs is friendly. We can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you for writing a review of Orchard Cottage and we are happy that you found Coniston a friendly place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

At first sight this doesn't seem to meet the ideal of a pretty Cumbrian cottage but it is right in the heart of Coniston village, spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed with powerful ensuite showers and in a superbly kept garden. It was also very good value at £35 a head. We had a comfortable night's sleep and made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was generous and well-cooked and home-produced honey was a particular highlight. This was one of the nicest B&Bs I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyflame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are pleased that you had a comfortable night with us and hope that this helped you enjoy your walk of the Cumbria Way. Thank you for writing your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the Easter break at the Orchard Cottage in Coniston. After a long week of work, we really needed a good break!

The Orchard Cottage is one of the best B&B we have ever been! The room are impeccable, and the dining room (where you have breakfast) has a large, bright window with a view of the Old Man of Coniston! I think that breakfast was one of the moments we enjoyed the most during the day: food is freshly prepared by Jean and David every morning and you can choose among a very good selection of things.

The owners, Jean and David, are very friendly and welcoming! They also showed us places to see and things to do in Coniston, which helped us a lot since we didn't have the time to look things up before getting there!

We really enjoyed our stay in Coniston: it gave us the opportunity to relax, do outdoor activities, taste excellent food, and enjoy nature without having thousands of tourists around!

Room Tip: Room n. 2 (which is the one we stayed at) has both a bath and a shower. It is very quite and has a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We are really pleased you found your weekend in Coniston relaxing and enjoyable and we thank you for finding the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Property: Orchard Cottage
Address: 18 Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Coniston village Orchard Cottage offers bed and breakfast accommodation in 3 ground floor en-suite rooms. All rooms are tastefully decorated and include TV's, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Outside there is a patio area with seating where you can enjoy the award winning garden. Orchard Cottage also has an ample off road car park. Ideally situated on the Cumbria Way and other long distance walks, drying facilities and cycle storage available. Breakfast is served in the dining room and guests have a choice of cereals and fruit, cooked full English breakfast (eggs from our own hens), toast marmalade, honey (from our own bees) & jam. Free WiFi access. Prices from £35 p.p.p.n based on 2 person occupancy of a room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Cottage Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing