We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Brilliant Apartment in a Beautiful Locale”
other travellers have booked this property
The barn. Tyan is the upper floor and has balcony and conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The barn. Tyan is the upper floor and has balcony and conservatory
Stunning uninterrupted view out to the Coniston mountains TYAN (upper) lounge/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The barn. Tyan is the upper floor and has balcony and conservatory
Stunning uninterrupted view out to the Coniston mountains
TYAN (upper) lounge/diner
TYAN (upper) - kitchen. Complete with dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer
All you need for a dinner party - TYAN
TYAN (upper) kitchen
TYAN - double
Open plan living in Tyan
TYAN (upper) - peacock double
TYAN (upper) - family bathroom.  There is a separate toilet too
Who needs to go out?
YAN (lower) - master ensuite double
Dining room in Tyan looking through to kitchen
Full 25 acres of Coal Yeat estate - your own playground
The local's walk - The beacon overlooking Coniston Water. 15 min drive from Coal Yeat
Tyan's garden.  Stable for storage of bikes etc.  BBQ and sunloungers too
Views from Coal Yeat
Tyan's Garden
Shared games room
Coal Yeat Tarn with Coniston Old Man in background
Pure escapism.  Coal Yeat circled.  Yet only 10 mins from the market town of Ulverston
Beauty all around
The fell road  - your entrance to Coal Yeat
No filter - these are the Coal Yeat skies
Again, no filters, just nature showing off
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ewan S
2 reviews
“A Brilliant Apartment in a Beautiful Locale”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The family and I stayed for three nights for a Halloweeny weekend. We wanted somewhere that would be big enough for us and some friends while being in an atmospheric location.
To start off, the property was spotless and superbly set out for our arrival - a well-stocked kitchen with all the equipment you could need as well as a surprising amount of herbs and spices etc., a welcome gift of a handmade loaf, some cake, and a bottle of wine, and even chocolates on the pillows!
The property had all the things we could have asked for, and when we were having a bit of downtime the property had Sky TV with all the packages and a games room with pool, darts, and table tennis.
The location was a big reason for our booking and it is stupendous. Despite being off the beaten path (literally) the owners provided excellent directions to the property, and an information pack there also had detailed and accurate directions to nearby points of interest. The landscape and views are incredible, truly worth the price alone. Even when the weather turned sour it was breathtaking.
The owners were lovely when we did see them, and the animals on the property (chickens, horses, dog) were a great distraction for our daughter and myself!
We couldn't have been happier with our stay other than being able to stay longer! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Wow. Thanks for such an awesome review. It makes me so happy that people love Coal Yeat as much as we do. We would love to welcome you back. Hopefully see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarussell...
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A rare find”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Firstly, Emma the owner is a lovely person, who goes out of her way to ensure you’re comfortable during your stay.
A throughly excellent choice, made easier as the location albeit rural & secluded is surrounded by mod cons, including decent speed WiFi & Full Sky package, a rare treat even in top hotels.
The flat itself was spotless, decorated neutrally with everything’s & more that you need.
The location meant we could drive easily to Coniston & beyond easily, taking picnics etc.
We have a large 4x4 & felt the very narrow lanes, precarious with novice country drivers approaching on the numerous blind bends on wrong side of road a bit scary!! But laughed at their panic to try & escape us without actually moving!
We didnt venture out at night as we made full use of the facilities in the apartment.
The views were unspoilt & spectacular, we enjoyed sunshine onall 3 days..fantastic. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mysticcud...
West Sussex
2 reviews
“A beautiful hidden gem with mountain views”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If you are looking for a holiday cottage with mountain views and away from the crowds, Coal Yeat is the place for you.

We booked Yan and were greeted with amazing views, a wonderful cake, tea, coffee, eggs, bread, etc.. and an immaculate cottage with a small fresh wild flowers display on the coffee table. We even had sweets left on the fresh towels in the bedrooms. Emma (owner) lives a stone throws away but not once did we find this to be a problem. She and her lovely family is completely non-intrusive and, to be honest, found her being so close an asset should anything go wrong or we needed to ask her anything.

The area itself has so much do with walks right from the front door. If you drive towards Coniston, you can go lake swimming, or just sit, taking in the beautiful views.

An amazing area for young and old, in a tranquil setting to return each night. We will be visiting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclaughla...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely cottage in great location. only criticism would be noise from upstairs cottage especially at night. would not put me off booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penjn
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I cannot recommend highly enough. Superb views, extremely comfortable cottage and a wonderful owner. 8 days spent walking in the fells and mountains so wonderful to return to this warm, beautiful, well stocked hideaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Well equipped, high spec cottage with beautiful views. Hoping to return!

The property owners live very close by. They completely respected our privacy whilst remaining reassuringly available should we be in need of assistance. This is a hard balance to get right and I think they do it well.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thanks you for taking the time to review. Your review means a lot. You are correct it's a very hard balance to achieve as all our guests are different. Some love to interact and they leave as friends.. others are here for pure escapism and isolation.... but most are somewhere inbetween. I'm so pleased you felt at home. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing