We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to sit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bluebird Cafe

The Bluebird Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent place to sit!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went to the Lake District just for a day and this place was amazing! Great view of the lake, great refreshments, lots of things to do just a couple of steps away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sorin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    327
    59
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Amazing place to have an ice cream and cake with stunning views over Coniston Water. Can't remember much of the food, only remember the views, so can't have been that bad!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hint_of_Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Much of the original building was destroyed by floods in 2009 and has been rebuilt. It is clean and fresh with lots of seating. There are plenty of purchase points to order food or coffee and there is a kiosk selling smoothies and ice creams. They also sell food for the ducks as well as postcards and books on Donald Campbell. Lovely place to sit and rest and watch the water world go by.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyannbarlow4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to have coffee and cake”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice little place, lovely outlook, fresh food. Service good too. Kids loved the hot chocolate with marshmallows and cake, whilst we had lovely coffees and a bluebird ale.
Also had burgers here which we're quite literally to die for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenimiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great coffee.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a coffee and cake here after our trip on the Steam Yacht Gondola. We found the facilities ti be excellent and, as a previous reviewer noted, the toilets were amongst the best we have visited in our trip to the Lake District. Yes, the cost was probably slightly higher than some other establishments but as always, you get what you pay for! We will be back for more cake!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bluebird Cafe also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to The Bluebird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing